Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

53 mhz

Old 07-02-2002, 10:20 AM
  #1  
PlaneKrazee
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Is 53 mhz safe to use?

I have two older Kraft single stick radios that I would like to use and they are on 53 mhz.

I see new ham band radios are 50 mhz.

Thanks,

Brian

KB1DTB
Old 07-02-2002, 11:53 AM
  #2  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 53 mhz

It depends on your area. Most likely you will be FB . Check for any repeater inputs or outputs . I also leave a monitor receiver tuned on at the field scanning that part of the band.
It would be pretty easy to move the radios down to the 50 mhz end as well.
Old 07-02-2002, 08:34 PM
  #3  
PlaneKrazee
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

FB?

Do you think Pete Waters can shift the equipment to 50 mhz?
Old 07-02-2002, 09:51 PM
  #4  
Jafrh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Debary, FL
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Pete has switched some rx's for me to 50.
Old 07-02-2002, 10:22 PM
  #5  
PlaneKrazee
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Jafrh,

Are these old Kraft receivers that he switched?

Brian
Old 07-03-2002, 04:18 AM
  #6  
Jafrh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Debary, FL
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Brian -

It's been a while, but I remember one was a Hitec.
Old 07-05-2002, 06:50 AM
  #7  
MO_Radio_Tech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 337
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

It is my opinion that the 50/53 bands are now too dirty to be safe for flying.

On a daily basis I watch ground noise with my spectrum analyzer. The noise is so much higher than in the 72 band, with lots of mysterious clutter and intermittent carriers. High tension power lines and radio transmission repeaters constantly produce harmonic noise on 53 esp.

I would not fly on 50/53. Too much money in the air to mess with something so unreliable.
Old 07-05-2002, 12:02 PM
  #8  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 53 mhz

No problem here ,in fact there is a lot LESS noise on 50 Mhz than 72 mhz , A WHOLE LOT LESS. There are actually industrial remote controls on the 72 mhz frequencies in many areas.
Old 07-05-2002, 02:46 PM
  #9  
bpannier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Why move to 50mhz when 53 hasd 100 spaceing. Many of us in our area fly on 53mhz. JR still has 53 radios my new 10 is on 53.300 mhz. However local conditions can make a difference. AMA said that 53.600 was OK but that is a repeater impute frequency. First make sure the batteries are good may be cheaper to buy a new radio than replacing and up dating.
Old 07-05-2002, 05:14 PM
  #10  
Jafrh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Debary, FL
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

No problem flying 50/53 mhz in the state of Florida.

In fact just returned from a meet in Vegas and flew in Top Gun a couple of months ago.

Do it, their perfectly good frequencies and not crowded.

Must be something in the air in Missouri!
Old 07-05-2002, 07:33 PM
  #11  
PlaneKrazee
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

LF,

Where is North Now?

Brian
Old 07-05-2002, 09:15 PM
  #12  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 53 mhz

A very populous industrial city in the Midwest. One of the largest cities in the US.
Old 07-05-2002, 11:30 PM
  #13  
MO_Radio_Tech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 337
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Believe whatever you want to believe. I choose to live in reality.

I can tell you that the problems folks are experiencing on 50/53 are national, not isolated. It is certainly true that some areas are worse than others.

Today, all day, a mysterious carrier was visible at my workshop at 53.33 mHz.

People everywhere are crashing in much higher percentages with 6 meters.

Go ahead, believe whatever you want to.

I would rather my equipment contend with sources on 72 mHz that are regulated (I admit loosely) by the FCC and industry standards.

I do not wish to contend with power lines and repeaters that interfere with 6 meters or hermits on hams in their sheds keying up whenever they feel like it.

There is "A WHOLE LOT LESS NOISE" on 72 than 50/53, not the oter way around.
Old 07-06-2002, 12:23 AM
  #14  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I'm FORCED to live in reality

Quote
"People everywhere are crashing in much higher percentages with 6 meters"

Where in the WORLD did THAT come from ??

...Everywhere BUT North America !

Well???
25 years on 50Mhz and there are 20 or so in our club on that band, and not a single hit for me. No one else I know of on those freqs has any complaints! I talk to many other amateurs across the country that fly on 50 and they haven't mentioned any problems ???

I monitor my part of the band OFTEN and ALWAYS when flying! NEVER had a contact, NEVER ! Power lines??? Repeaters???
FYI- REPEATERS are ASSIGNED frequencies . They don't move around the repeater is on a FIXED frequency at a FIXED location ! NOT TO WORRY! I don't fly your scanner and I can't speak for it's credibility so I guess I'll stay with what has been working so well for so long
I do see planes take hits very regularly on the "other channels" I see a few go in every year !
Yes , I will believe what I see ,and what I know to be fact. I'm not sure where your info comes from but I'm quite certain of mine

" hermits on hams keying up in thier sheds"????
Hams in far off lands operate in sheds, Here in the states we call them SHACKS

The FCC (Federal Communications Commission, not to be confused with any other entity by that name )also regulates AMATEUR RADIO .And the participants have LICENSES. They earn the LICENSE by taking a TEST . Some of them are VERY well versed in RADIO theory and operation.

FCC???????????? FCC??????????? oh ! FCC! hello FCC ( could be those blankety blank SINGLE CONVERSION RECEIVERS!!! )
?
Maybe you are thinking of the CB band

I will be glad to afford you the same oportunity to believe yourself. I think anyone with the LICENSE to operate on 50 Mhz will have no problem making the right choice.


FCC I get it !
Old 07-06-2002, 04:54 PM
  #15  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

I have to dissagree with MO-Radio_tech. I spent many years in St. Louis using 53 MHZ with never a glitch. so have many of my fellow modelers. since then, spent a few years in San Diago area and no problems on 6 meteres nor did anyone else have any. Now in Florida and still flying on 6 meteres, no problems. The only problem is if you want to resell any equipment, not a big market.
Old 07-06-2002, 11:49 PM
  #16  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Well, guess I have to put my ditto in about no problems on the 50/53 mhz band in the DFW area. I moved about 15 years ago from 53 to 50 because of potential interference from repeaters. There are over 200 club members in my club and I can think of only two other club members on 6 meters. Sure is nice. It must be one of the best kept secrets in R/C.

Ken
Old 07-06-2002, 11:54 PM
  #17  
INJUN_EAR
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: cary, IL
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

I'm also on 50mhz (Ch02) and have lived in Virginia, LA, CA, Long Island NY, and now Chicagoland.......

Never once had any sort of problem, ever......And yes, I do fly often, very often....

KE4QDX
Old 07-07-2002, 02:56 AM
  #18  
PlaneKrazee
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

I have to get hold of ARRL members to check repeaters in my area and have a fellow ham check for signals on 50/ 53mhz.

I have my tech license but never got into all the goodies.

The men that helped with my studies for the test were great. I have to get back in touch with them.

Thanks,

Brian

KB1DTB
Old 07-07-2002, 11:28 AM
  #19  
Crash_N_Burn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: d, AL,
Posts: 535
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Been flying 53MHz for 10 years off and on here in Oregon and never, ever had a hit.

Two others at the field fly 50 & 53 also and they have never had any problems.

Have seen a few folks take hits from time-to-time on 72, however.

N7DKK
Old 07-07-2002, 07:03 PM
  #20  
INJUN_EAR
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: cary, IL
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Originally posted by MO_Radio_Tech
Believe whatever you want to believe. I choose to live in reality.

I can tell you that the problems folks are experiencing on 50/53 are national, not isolated. It is certainly true that some areas are worse than others.

Today, all day, a mysterious carrier was visible at my workshop at 53.33 mHz.

People everywhere are crashing in much higher percentages with 6 meters.

Go ahead, believe whatever you want to.

I would rather my equipment contend with sources on 72 mHz that are regulated (I admit loosely) by the FCC and industry standards.

I do not wish to contend with power lines and repeaters that interfere with 6 meters or hermits on hams in their sheds keying up whenever they feel like it.

There is "A WHOLE LOT LESS NOISE" on 72 than 50/53, not the oter way around.
Oh, now I can see what this fracas is all about...

MO_RADIO_TECH, you must be choking on that shoe leather? You clearly have, er.....inserted one in your mouth here........

Popycock! (or is it Poop-ee, I dunno)....


KE4QDX
Old 07-07-2002, 08:56 PM
  #21  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 53 mhz

Pretty strange eh Tomasino ??
Old 07-07-2002, 09:36 PM
  #22  
INJUN_EAR
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: cary, IL
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Ladyflier, strange? Do you mean the mispelling of my last name or what MO had to say?

Someone's been to QRZ.com, eh?
Old 07-09-2002, 03:21 AM
  #23  
ftomteen4cat
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

Originally posted by INJUN_EAR
...And yes, I do fly often, very often....

KE4QDX
Not often enough
scott-
Old 07-09-2002, 02:13 PM
  #24  
fop26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 53 mhz

I would rather take my chances with repeaters that are not near theese frequencies anyway then with some bonehead fellow flyer that turns on his radio and shoots you down and then denies it on the 72 mhz band, ive used 53mhz band for 30 yrs with no trouble, i have seen hits on 72mhz band from steel factories in the area using remote cranes,the oldest ham band radios are still usable because of the wider spacing between channels getting back to the original question.
Just wish that the clubs would check the guys running ham radios to make sure they are licensed, tech. license test was not easy.
I believe that Futaba makes only the 50mhz radios because they want to cut down on their inventory, not because one is better than the other.
Old 07-09-2002, 06:10 PM
  #25  
Ladyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ladyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Am, MT
Posts: 1,097
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 53 mhz

It is usually easier to put a 50 Mhz radio on 53 than vice - versa !

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.