Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

is digital "tune up" needed?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2004, 04:59 PM
lownslo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is digital "tune up" needed?

I am new to the digital servos. I am putting an ARF together for a club member and he bought a Hitec MG digital servo for the rudder. He has a supplied me with a PPM Hitec RX. Is there some kind of "tuning" that has to be done to the digial servo" ? No matter where I rotate the splines of the duel servo arm, (I tried 4), the arm will not line up perpendicular to the length of the case. I have to slide the trim tab on the TX about 2/3 of it's travel to get the arm 90 degrees to the case. This servo is for a pull-pull rudder system so I really need this thing to be at 90 degrees to the case. Any thoughts?? ....... thanks......lownslo
Old 12-09-2004, 05:50 PM
JohnMac

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: is digital "tune up" needed?

It is not necessary to do anything for digital servo to work; they work straight out of the box. However, Hitec digitals can be programmed for centre position so far as I know. Certainly the Multiplex ones can be and they use the same technology. Since the splines are always an odd number, have you tried just turning the arm through 180 degrees to sse if it lines up that way?
Regards,

John
Old 12-09-2004, 07:29 PM
lownslo