Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

Old 12-31-2004, 02:52 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

I am fairly new to the RC car hobby and i recently purchased a Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS for my Savage SS. Nothing happens when i try to use the throttle or steering. I've triple checked to make sure everything is in the right spot and still nothing. All help is greatly appreciated. Thankss
Old 12-31-2004, 06:47 PM
  #2  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

Nice radio, I use one for all my cars and trucks... anyway are you sure your batt's are good? make sure there inserted correctly in the holder, this is of course assuming you not using a rechargeable pack. Unless your switch and servo plugs are Futaba J they could be plugged in back-wards, the negative(black) leads on the servo's and switch plug go to the outside of the receiver case. If everything battery and polarity wise checks out then you may have a bad TX, RX or crystal.

John
Old 12-31-2004, 07:08 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

Nothing doing. there is a little action when i turn the receiver on, the steering returns to its center position. I got really excited when that happened but then tried the transmitter and nothing worked[]
Old 12-31-2004, 07:25 PM
  #4  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

are you using the Futaba receiver? check the TX crystal and RX crystal and make sure there on the same channel... when you turn on the receiver you get some servo movement right? is this with the TX on or off? it sounds like everything is hooked up right just the TX and RX are not talking to each other... If you picked up your radio at LHS take it back and let them look at it.

John
Old 12-31-2004, 07:32 PM
  #5  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

Wait a min... are you in PP or HRS? when you turn on the TX do you see PP flash up then change to your volt reading? if you see HRS you need to change to that to PP. ley me know I'll walk ya through the setting change.

John
Old 12-31-2004, 11:13 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

I tried it both ways and there is movement both when i have the TX on and off. And yes it is on PP. How would i go about taking out the crystal for the TX
Old 12-31-2004, 11:22 PM
  #7  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

The TX crystal is in a small cover on the back, you'll see the frequency #'s on the cover, It just pull out but it may be a bit stiff. once you have it out compare the #'s to verify it matches the RX. I hate to say it but I think you have a bum TX, RX or crystal set... I'd think about taking/sending it back.

John
Old 12-31-2004, 11:49 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

I think i have found the problem. There doesn't seem to be a crystal for the TX!!! unless im mistaken, its just a little plastic cover and theres nothing inside.
Old 12-31-2004, 11:55 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

but its synthesized, so it doesn't need a crystal, right?
Old 01-01-2005, 11:33 AM
  #10  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

dam the FS part didn't even register with me... no you won't have a TX crystal. I have the plain 3PM... Futaba release the FS unit shortly after I picked up mine... just my luck anyway have you made sure your TX is set to the right channel? I'd start from scratch... read the manual and set it up exactly like it says... if that does not work take it to your LHS and see if they can find the problem.

John
Old 01-01-2005, 01:30 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

yeah ill start over again and see how that goes
Old 01-01-2005, 02:08 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

yeah i figured out my problem, it was on the wrong channel[:@] ..... thank you for all your help
Old 01-01-2005, 03:54 PM
  #13  
jsn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Magnum 3PM-FS Question.

Good to hear you figured it out... with this hobby you learn QUICK to not over analyze things and look at the obvious FIRST! man I can't begin to tell ya how much time I wasted over the 15 or so years I have in this hobby over looking the little stuff searching for a BIG problem that's not there I seem to forget my own advice to much

Good luck and have fun with your new radio!

John
Old 06-24-2024, 05:59 AM
  #14  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

John
i could use help trying to change my 3pm-fs magnum from PP to HRS
Im doing exactly the way the manual says with the on switch and the sel key but never have seen the HRS mode it’s always in the PP mode.
thanks
Old 07-10-2024, 02:19 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So I could still use some help trying to change my 3 pm fs magnum from pp to hrs.
im following the manual and haven’t seen hrs anywhere.
im wanting to use the r203hf receiver.
hopefully someone can help
thanks.
Old 07-10-2024, 02:20 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jsn
if you figured yours out drop me a line thanks.
Old 07-10-2024, 02:23 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looie131
if you got your 3pmfs to change from pp to hrs let me know how you did it
thanks.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.