Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Which piezo gyro for hovering airpalne ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2002, 09:13 AM
edge 3644

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which piezo gyro for hovering airpalne ?

Hi,

I want to improve the tail stability when hovering my acro planes, simultaneously rudder and elevator. I have never used them before. Please advice which gyros are worths considering.

Thanks in advance

Robert
Old 09-18-2002, 12:01 PM
twinman
My Feedback: (2)

Default gyros

Cannot suggest best brand for this application, but go to rcwarbirds.com
Gyros are covered in the flying forum and the twins forum. Just completed tests with heading hold gyro in a plane, detailed in twins forum. Works fantastic, with warnings about turning it off in the forum.
You will need two separate gyros for the rudder and elevator with separate controls for rate control.
Good Luck
Old 09-18-2002, 02:37 PM
Bill Mixon

Default Gyros

Hi Robert,

I have not used one, but if I were to buy any gyro it would be the Futaba GYA 352 Dual Axis.
A lot of people have had good luck and really like the Hobbico airplane gyro for hovering. It is also realitively cheap. But remember as Twinman mentioned you need two of them and it would also be a good idea to have two switchs to cut the rate or turn them off for "normal" flight. If you use any kind of heading hold or lock gyro such as the Futaba AVCS series you must have some means of remote adjustment from the transmitter. It is almost impossible to fly a plane with heading lock gyros on both the rudder and the elevator.
For example if you tried to make a left turn using only aileron and elevator the rudder gyro would sence that the plane is yawing to the left and would input right rudder. The same is true for the standard "rate gyros" but, they are much less sensitive and would not correct as much as the other gyros.