Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Old 07-28-2005, 01:07 PM
  #26  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

How many regulators for flight system, one for each battery? How many switches for the flight system, one for each battery?

It's irrelevant but who offers 2350mAh lithium-ion flight packs?

Sounds like the servo is damaged, I'd suggest returning all the servos to Hitec Service for post crash inspection.
Old 07-28-2005, 04:02 PM
  #27  
Kougar IV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Granby, QC, CANADA
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

One regulators for each battery
One switches for each battery

2350mAh lithium-ion flight packs
http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/LiIonBatteries.htm
with The Smart-Fly BatShare
Old 08-17-2005, 05:46 PM
  #28  
mrbigg
My Feedback: (21)
 
mrbigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Streator, IL
Posts: 4,780
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

are these back on the shelves, ready to sell?
Old 08-18-2005, 12:31 PM
  #29  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Yes. The current 5955's have no known issues. Any older servos can also be sent to Hitec to be updated.

Mike.
Old 08-18-2005, 12:39 PM
  #30  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues


ORIGINAL: MikeMayberry

Yes. The current 5955's have no known issues. Any older servos can also be sent to Hitec to be updated.

Mike.
Hi Mike,
I have 6 of the 5995's in my 52% Edge which will fly later this year, but before I do, any know issues with these and what is the best thing to keep them from failing , voltage etc....

Thanks
Roger
Old 08-18-2005, 03:54 PM
  #31  
mrbigg
My Feedback: (21)
 
mrbigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Streator, IL
Posts: 4,780
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

thanks, Mike.
Old 08-18-2005, 05:52 PM
  #32  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Aerographixs- Just make sure to provide them with plenty of power. Each servo is capable of pulling up to 3A under stall conditions.

Mike.
Old 08-18-2005, 09:25 PM
  #33  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues


ORIGINAL: MikeMayberry

Aerographixs- Just make sure to provide them with plenty of power. Each servo is capable of pulling up to 3A under stall conditions.

Mike.
Thanks Mike, will do.

Roger
Old 09-26-2005, 03:24 AM
  #34  
ashkanani
Junior Member
 
ashkanani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: mishref, KUWAIT
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

HI Mike..
just wondering.... now with the new programer update V1.04 is it possible to edit and program the 5995TG servo's...

Thanks
Abraham
Old 09-26-2005, 10:00 AM
  #35  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues


ORIGINAL: ashkanani

HI Mike..
just wondering.... now with the new programer update V1.04 is it possible to edit and program the 5995TG servo's...

Thanks
Abraham
Yes, that was the specific purpose of the latest update.
Old 09-27-2005, 04:49 PM
  #36  
ashkanani
Junior Member
 
ashkanani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: mishref, KUWAIT
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Thanks mglavin for the good news...

Abraham
Old 10-02-2005, 11:15 AM
  #37  
Modified
Senior Member
 
Modified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ADA, OK
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

I've got 5 5955/v1.04 going in a 34% extra that should be ready in a couple of weeks, I am going to run them straight out of the box and I've read somewhere that there are problems with the v1.04. Anybody else having problems with these?
Old 10-02-2005, 11:38 AM
  #38  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

There are NO problems with the servos unless you want to drive two with a wye and a single channel source using Futaba PCM... In this scenario the Futaba RX is unable to provide adequate sink current to drive two servo form a single channel. Hitec realized the shortcoming and later updated components to accommodate the use with multiples and Futaba PCM. While the servos will work fine out of the box, if you feel the need Hitec Service will update the servos free of charge.
Old 10-02-2005, 11:49 AM
  #39  
Modified
Senior Member
 
Modified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ADA, OK
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

I just bought these this week from Don's hobbies in Paris Tx. I will try to send them in this week. Would there be any problemwith current draw running 5 5955's thru a Hitec HFD-08RD Supreme Rec.
Old 10-02-2005, 11:59 AM
  #40  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Is there a trash can symbol with a line through it on the servos? If so, no need to update them.

If your using the Hitec RX there is no need to update them, however its your call. The problem noted previously is specific to Futaba PCM RX's only.

Yes the Hitec HFD-08RD will work fine with 5-5955TG's. Be sure and use HD swithces and wiring components with gold plated connectors and a robust power source. At least a 1950mAh five cell; high discharge capable batteries are desired.
Old 10-02-2005, 01:09 PM
  #41  
Modified
Senior Member
 
Modified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ADA, OK
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

I was thinking about the Thunder Power pro lite 2cell 2100 mAh li-po (15c cont, 20c burst). I was going to run two on the reciever thru HD switchs and 6V regulators.
Old 11-03-2005, 04:51 PM
  #42  
Buzz Lightyear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canberra, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Hi Mglavin

Does running multiple 5995's through a matchbox with a separate battery fix the problem?

Cheers

Buzz
ORIGINAL: mglavin

There are NO problems with the servos unless you want to drive two with a wye and a single channel source using Futaba PCM... In this scenario the Futaba RX is unable to provide adequate sink current to drive two servo form a single channel. Hitec realized the shortcoming and later updated components to accommodate the use with multiples and Futaba PCM. While the servos will work fine out of the box, if you feel the need Hitec Service will update the servos free of charge.
Old 11-03-2005, 07:22 PM
  #43  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Buzz

As far as I know yes. I have not personally tested the combination with a Matchbox. Any product that isolates the servos from the Rx is said to eliminate the problem associated with Futaba PCM Rx's.
Old 11-03-2005, 09:35 PM
  #44  
NdFrSpeed
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 442
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Not to mention any names but somebodys not being real honest here,,ive went through 12 HS 5955's to get 8 to work right,,send them back sure enough,,they relace it,,but there are problems with them,,no doubt in my mind,,early in the thread,,someone had a rudder go full over,,i know somebody thats lost 2 35% Extra's,,same reason,,but it was on the ailirons instead,,,you check some of these on the new verison programmer,,you hook them up and they go into some kind of test mode by themeselves,,,then they stop,,you reach over and just touch the arm and the servo takes off again doing all kinds of crazy stuff,,so beware,,im talking about servos in the last 30 days that ive gotten.Had one on the elavator,,just go nuts,,flipping from full up full down and every where in between,,brand new right out of the box,,throughly test before useing is my advice,,


NdFrSpeed
Old 07-24-2007, 05:55 PM
  #45  
raubold
My Feedback: (156)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Hi Michael
I am running 3 5985s on Singel impulse from a Futaba 148 PCM and had no problems so far. Power is suplied over singel Pos and Neg with Ultra Deans Conector to Each servo seperat.
Do You think there could be a problem down the Flightline please let me know. Dont want to loose my AW 42% 260

Thanks Michael Raubold
Old 07-24-2007, 06:16 PM
  #46  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Michael,

You should be OK, the initial problem with the minimal sync current experienced with Futaba PCM RX's has been worked through.

What surface are driving three servos with a single control signal and how are the servos inter-connected?



Old 07-26-2007, 09:44 AM
  #47  
raubold
My Feedback: (156)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Running the Ailerons with 5985s on my Extra 260 from Aeroworks, programmed to use without Matchbox. Draw on Zero is about 35 ma and full deflestion is under 300 ma without Load. The two 5955s on the Rudder about 1 amp full deflection fighting the Tailweel springs, witch i fix with softer Springs. Elevators programmed for no Mathbox use goes about full deflection 120 ma no load. I am running all Servo singel impulse from two Receivers (148 PCM) exept the Ailerons with 3 5885s on Ailerons and had no problems so far
Thanks for reply Michel


Michael Raubold
Old 07-26-2007, 09:59 AM
  #48  
raubold
My Feedback: (156)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec 5995/5955 issues

Forgot Servo Power conected thru Ultra Deans for Power and singel impulse from Receivers to each Servo in Wings with singel Wire
3 inch long Y-Conector ( Home made). Made shure that I have no Loops in Negative or Positive wiering witch can cause most of the
problems with Digital Servos in my experiance in electro-techiqe. I use to work in Audio and Studio electronics an know about wiering
and inductions into wieres if you run closed ground or supply loops. I also used Oscilloscope on the wiering to make shure that there is no unwanted impulse induction from one wire to annotherand came out clean.
Michael raubold

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.