Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Old 11-25-2005, 02:42 PM
  #1  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Is anybody using their 9CAP Super to fly helicopters?
Old 11-25-2005, 03:31 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,329
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Well the software is identical the switches are a little different so anyone helping you or if you decide to help someone you will have to pay attention. Also flip the metal thing over on the throttle so its a nice smooth motion and its fine for heli flying.
Old 11-25-2005, 05:46 PM
  #3  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Thanks, I was going to make my radio non-ratchet, I like the smooth feel, just trying to save a few (hundred) bucks on a new radio for helis. Will it save the heli program when I switch models or modes?, sorry for the questions, I just got this radio a few weeks back as an upgrade to my 6XAS, now the heli fever is kicking in[:@], can't get enough of RC

Joe[8D]
Old 11-25-2005, 07:47 PM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,329
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

I'm with ya brother!

The software is the same as the heli version. The difference is when you clear a model memory it defaults to aircraft instead of mine which comes up as a heli. Just pick a new memory, go to the Parameter menu, set it as a heli and program away. When you change model memory back to one of your planes it will switch programs.

PPM/PCM also follows model selection so if you get a pcm reciever for your heli when you switch to that model memory it will switch to pcm, you just have to power cycle your transmitter if your changing modulation. Thats done in the parameter menu too.
Old 11-26-2005, 10:33 AM
  #5  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Cool, thanks for the info, the money I'm saving on a new radio could be used for heli number 2

Joe
Old 11-26-2005, 10:36 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,329
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

No problem, I like the way you think!

What heli you have in mind? The Raptor 50 with a OS50 hyper is a great way to go, training to 3D right out of the box.
Old 11-26-2005, 01:23 PM
  #7  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

I'ved been looking at the Tiger 50, but the Raptor is also an option.

Joe
Old 11-26-2005, 03:10 PM
  #8  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

One more thing, is it hard to remove the ratchet? it might void my warranty.

Joe
Old 11-26-2005, 04:27 PM
  #9  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,329
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

You undo a phillips screw, flip the metal tab over and put the screw back in.

My buddy had a Tiger, it was a PITA, he couldn't wait ti get rid of it.
Old 11-26-2005, 04:33 PM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,329
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Oh yea, you have to remove the RF module and remove the battery. Then take out 4 screws and do what I said in the above post.

I doubt they would care and void a warranty over that, there's no soldering or anything involved.
Old 11-27-2005, 10:32 AM
  #11  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Thanks, I'll give it a shot.

Joe[8D]
Old 11-27-2005, 04:09 PM
  #12  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

I don't know about voiding the warenty but it is very simple to change the throttle spring. I took my 7cap radio and because I don't like the feel that the throttle gives by flip the spring over, I traded springs with a guy who had the 9chp and didn't care for the smooth throttle. it was very simple to remove the back cover and remove the screw holding the spring in place. the throttle spring that comes in a heli version radio is slightly different but flipping the airplane version spring over smothes out the clicks. I just don't care for the gritty feel while moving the stick.
Old 11-27-2005, 05:31 PM
  #13  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

Starting to like the smooth feel of the throttle myself, my friend flys Airtronics and the throttle is smooth as standard equipment.

Joe
Old 11-28-2005, 10:45 AM
  #14  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 9CAS for Heli Flying

The warranty would be voided if what you did actually caused damage to the unit. Changing the spring does not cause damage to the unit.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.