Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

newbie w/ odd project, seeking advice+help

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2002, 05:15 PM
carlhuber

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie w/ odd project, seeking advice+help

Hey there guys what's up? I've got this pet project I've been drooling over for a while. The problem is I'm a total, absolute newbie to any RC.

I was hoping I could tell you guys what I want to do, and if you're feeling up to it, help me put together a shopping list. I'm trying to build a little mech - like a little robot guy (ie, Gundam, Mechwarrior, Zoids, that sort of thing)....basically to have individually moving tank treads, two moving arms, and a moving head-missile thing.

These motors really don't need to be powerful or fast - smaller the better, really. i'm trying to make a mech-thing that's only a couple inches tall. I'll include the applications for them in case you have better suggestions that what I'm thinking!

- 2 motors that have only forward/neutral/reverse ( individual tank treads)

- 2 slightly less powerful motors of the same type
(two arms, don't need to be powerful at all)

- 1 motor probably the same as the previous one (to be attached to a gear that raises and lowers a toothed-stick to fire some stupid plastic springloaded rockets - sorry for the idiotic description)

haha, so does that sound doable? I guess I'm looking at 5 motors, each with ONLY forward/neutral/reverse, NOT directional turning. The only load the first two need to bear would be the batteries for the 5 motors, which I guess can get pretty heavy right?

Do you have any recommendations in terms of the kinds of motors? And what do I need to be aware of in terms of frequencies and whatnot? *looks for documentation online about "RC motors for dummies"*