Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Old 03-13-2007, 08:11 PM
  #1  
Stickbuilder
Thread Starter
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Does anyone still fly the Futaba 8SGAP? PCM system?

Bill, AMA 4720
WACO Brotherhood #1
Old 03-13-2007, 08:56 PM
  #2  
pkoury
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Picayune, MS
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Still flying mine, will be installing the four new battery pack. Get lots of comments when I open the back panel to display all the switches and dials...
Old 03-14-2007, 03:52 AM
  #3  
Stickbuilder
Thread Starter
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Mine just came back from Radio South. New tune up, and new batteries. I''m probably going to sell mine. I don't use half of the features that it offers. It's still easier to program than the new fangled computer transmitters though.

Bill, AMA 4720
WACO Brotherhood #1
Old 03-14-2007, 11:28 AM
  #4  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Stickbuilder,
The 8sgap has too many receiver limitations, such as no PPM and PCM512 only. The TF modules are hard to comeby also.
The Futaba 9CAP is so easy to program, EVEN A CAVEMAN CAN DO IT! It also supports PPM and PCM1024.

Dave
Old 03-14-2007, 12:28 PM
  #5  
PipeMajor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 747
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?


ORIGINAL: davewallace
...The Futaba 9CAP is so easy to program, EVEN A CAVEMAN CAN DO IT! Dave
That is SO condescending...
Old 03-14-2007, 08:01 PM
  #6  
FOD MAN
Senior Member
 
FOD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: gurdon, AR
Posts: 345
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

My flying buddy's use an 8GAP with there RC terradactyl. it's still a good radio.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93916.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	642293  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:02 PM
  #7  
jdb000001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

The Futaba 9CAP is so easy to program, EVEN A CAVEMAN CAN DO IT! It also supports PPM and PCM1024.
Better watch out, the cavemen already have a class action case against a well know insurance company.

On the other hand, if its so easy a caveman can do it, maybe Futaba should start hiring cavemen for the help department - too many things are so easy even a kid can do it, but there's never a kid around to show you how to operate it. [:-]

Back to the original topic - I'm surprised noone has taken the time to figure out Futaba's PCM 512 coding, and then taken the rf board from something like the 127DF and just replaced the decoder board to make PCM512 receivers - would be narrow band too.
Old 03-14-2007, 09:28 PM
  #8  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

JDB,
Very interesting idea. I don't know if I would want to use a receiver that I built in one of my planes for a test bed though. Receivers are too cheap to bother anyway. If Futaba had made the 8SGAP switchable to ppm, it would still be in demand like the U series radios. My old 5UAP does both PCM1024 and PPM. No mixing or expo etc. Honestly, I do find the 9C very easy to program. I think that I could teach someone to program it in ten minutes, maybe even a caveman.

Dave
Old 03-18-2007, 07:06 AM
  #9  
stinky
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toms River , NJ
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

I use to fly one but found it to be the heaviest radio I have ever held. I still fly a Futaba FP-T8SSA-P single stick on my jets. Same radio on the inside. I have found that modules and recievers are getting easier to find at swap meets. I have 2 radio's and 10 recievers and modules. If you search ebay they come up often and sometimes will be bid up high, only to come back on a week later cause the guy bought what he thought he could use. I pay around 20 to 30 bucks for a reciever and 10 to 30 bucks for modules!
steve
Old 03-18-2007, 01:29 PM
  #10  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

stinky,
Many of the gold series Futaba's had TF modules and can be had cheap at swap meets.


Dave
Old 03-18-2007, 06:15 PM
  #11  
jdb000001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Has anyone ever had one of the older wide-band PCM 512 receivers out of the case? I was wondering if they are build like the 127DF, where the RF section is on a separate board from the decoder board - would be easy to put a new narrow band RF board onto one then.
Old 03-18-2007, 08:43 PM
  #12  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

The R118GP is rather square shaped, unlike the smaller R127DP and DF. Older technology.

Dave

Old 06-25-2007, 09:23 AM
  #13  
Stickbuilder
Thread Starter
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone flying the Futaba 8SGAP?

Is anyone interested in the system that I have? I'm going to put in up for sale on e-bay and here in RCU.

Bill, AMA 4720
WACO Brotherhood #1

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.