Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Using two Castle Controllers

Old 04-18-2007, 08:35 PM
  #1  
Dorsal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (17)
 
Dorsal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using two Castle Controllers

I sent the following letter to Castle Creations:

"I am building a plane with two Speed 400 brushed, geared motors, one forward (tractor) and one aft (pusher). I have programmed my Futaba 9CAPS to allow me to run just the front motor for takeoff (channel 3), then switch the other motor (channel 7) on also for the rest of the flight. (For hand launching, so I don't get whacked by the aft propeller). So I have a Pixie-20P controller on each of the motors. I will use a 3S Li Po battery to power the plane.
Now to the question: I understand that I cannot plug both of the BEC connectors into the receiver without removing the red lead from at least one of them, but can I solder both of the red leads together and plug them into one of the connectors? That way the receiver is only getting power from one plug, but both BECs are still in use. I think that would provide me with up to 3A for the servos, right?
If I am out of my mind, please let me know. -- "

To which I received a reply today:
"Yes that would work, but there's no reason to do it. Keep both red wires plugged in and plug into separate channels. Our controllers were designed with the ability to run the BECs in parallel."
(signed by)
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations (Bold text added by me)

Well nuts! Why didn't they say so on their website? Are theirs the only ones, because everywhere else on the web that I found any information about multiple controllers, all the rest of the websites say to "cut or remove" the red lead from one of the controllers before plugging them both in. And I'd guess his answer pertains to all of the Castle controllers, not just the ones for brushed motors.

Cool, eh?

Dorsal
Old 04-19-2007, 12:32 AM
  #2  
Dorsal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (17)
 
Dorsal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Using two Castle Controllers

[8D]Does anybody need a new mini UBEC now?
Old 06-27-2007, 05:53 PM
  #3  
Dorsal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (17)
 
Dorsal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Using two Castle Controllers

hmmm - I guess everybody knew this but me, and all the ESC websites are just joking when they say to cut the wires, eh?
Old 06-28-2007, 08:43 AM
  #4  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Using two Castle Controllers

Not many other ESCs can have there BECs paralleled, CC's are somewhat of the exception[8D].
As far as ever cutting the red wire, remeber what they say about "burning your bridges behind you", better to remove the red wire and cover it with heat shrink
Pete

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.