Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Eclipse-7 vs. Futaba-8S input please !!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2002, 10:56 PM
airnut57
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Eclipse-7 vs. Futaba-8S input please !!!

I went to MLH shop today to look at both radios.The e-7 comes with spectra module, 4 bb servos ,fm Rx,batt. charger etc. Futaba 8 super,comes with 4 standard servos, FM slim Rx ,batt,charger etc. radios are within $10.00 of each other. shop will swap servos,Rx ,what ever you want.I am currently using a futaba FGK-6 AM. (aprox 15 yrs old) I am a self taught flier, started with gentle lady, to .25 powered cowboy. (old craft air kit) to a big stick .40 ARF with a maginum .52 4-stroke. I will be flying it this summer for my next faze of training .I'v gotten this far with out any serious crashes.i'm looking for a radio that will take me through my citabra which is almost finished (need the tail drager training)and then on to the P-51( start building this spring)I like both radios ,i feel both are of excellent quality, but my main concern is in the lay-out of the switches and knobs, both are quite different. the info im looking for is for exampel:are things conveniently placed ? is the 3-knob cluster easy to use without looking? and what about those 2 knobs on top of the E-7 can you get to them quickly? The plan is to buy one of these radios this week so any input you may have pro and con, would be greatly appreciated.

airnut

please dont post anything you would like to sell me. thanks
Old 02-18-2002, 11:51 PM
Volfy
My Feedback: (23)

If you're thinking about paying this much, please do yourself a favor and upgrade to the 9C. I bought an Eclipse 7 w/ Spectra not long before Futaba introduced the 9C, which I HAD to get regardless. Nowadays, I only use the Eclipse for flying my sailplanes with old Airtronics radio gear.