Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

How about bringing back Single Stick Transmitters

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 09:28 PM
esmithga

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How about bringing back Single Stick Transmitters

A question out there to the RC Transmitter manufactures: With all the great things going on with RC transmitters these days in regard to the new spread spectrum technologies how about redesigning the man machine interface? I started flying RCs back in the 70s using an MCR 4 channel single stick. My RC mentor also flew a single stick transmitter at the time. I graduated to larger aircraft and enjoyed getting some real stick and rudder time. Now I am back to RC flying and purchased an old Futaba 8SSAP single stick off of ebay and love flying with it. To me it is more like flying the real thing.

Anyway – It is about time the Transmitter manufactures come out with a really cool single stick transmitter. Just think - A stick like an F16 joystick with a high-hat that could be used for trim controls and even have additional trim controls and switches on the stick. Just like PC joysticks today. Maybe even a tray system with the main stick on the pilot’s lower right side and an F16 style throttle on the left that could also double as a rudder peddles (ok sort a like the dual sticks of today but more functional).

So Futaba, JR, Airtronics, Spectrum and others how about it? Let’s see what your creative minds can build. Plus add in two way telemetry while you’re at it with airspeed, altitude, heading, rate of climb and attitude indicators as well. ;-)
Old 08-05-2007, 07:14 PM
esmithga

Default RE: How about bringing back Single Stick Transmitters

Would anyone in the flying community like to comment?

Has anyone ever used a single stick 4+ channel transmitter and liked it?