Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Lots of radio questions!

Old 04-03-2003, 10:55 PM
dan1220
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lots of radio questions!

Hi, Im new to the hobby, and dont even have a car yet. Im gettin an evader st (I Think), but I have questions about radios. How do cristals work. Can I switch my radio without changing reciever or servo? What all would I have to do if all I wanted to do was just change the radio, and nothing else?

Can you help?
thanks alot,
Dan
Old 04-03-2003, 11:38 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Not quite sure what you are asking here. The crystal is in both the transmitter and reciever. If you use a different transmitter, it must be the same brand and freq to work. Some will work with others like hitec and futaba. If you want to use the same trans and different rec, then you need to consider the same thing, brand and freq.
Old 04-03-2003, 11:42 PM
Jim Schwagle
My Feedback: (1)

If your transmitter uses modules (small boxes about 1/2 the size of a pack of cigarettes) then you can change channels by changing modules. Your receiver must match the channel you're transmitting on. If your transmitter simply uses crystals (the crystals control the channel you're transmitting on) you may not change them unless licensed by the FCC. It is illegal in the US for you to make channel changes by changing crystals. (Modules ok) It is ok to change crystals in receivers, no government problem there, but some brands, Futaba for example, say channel changes are restricted to what are called High and Low bands. Check on this site for discussions about this, they abound.
Old 04-03-2003, 11:56 PM
strato911

Also, even though it is common practice among RC Car drivers, in North America it is illegal to change transmitter crystals. Only the receiver crystal may be changed legally.