Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba vs Spektrum

Old 06-05-2008, 02:58 PM
ShadowGator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba vs Spektrum

I am new to the hobby and currently only have radios which came with my kits, all 4 channel variety...

I would like to plan ahead for a quality system. I have two EDF planes, a Haoye F-18 and a HET F-18, in my garage as future projects once I get better at flying. Eventually I would like to go to a bigger twin EDF F-18 from EJF or Yellow Aircraft so I can have retracts.

With those two planes in my garage, and a future plane down the road, in mind, which is the better way to go, a 6 channel 2.4ghz or 7 channel 2.4 ghz?

Also, I see somewhat of a trend for Spektrum, but I grew up with Futaba controls for my rc cars. Outside of looks, and a small price difference, is there any quality, customer support, or other issues that make one better than the other?

Thanks for the help!

Dave
Old 06-05-2008, 03:12 PM
Foamaholic
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Futaba vs Spektrum

Futaba or Spektrum, JR, one isn't really any better than the other. The more channels the better all things considered. With Futaba you can use a Campac module to add more planes to the radio's memory, nice feature. The DX7 has Model Match which is a good feature. It's really a matter of what fits your budget and has the most features that you want. Buy the best one you can afford.
Old 06-05-2008, 03:13 PM
carlosponti