Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

2 ganged servos for rudder?

Old 05-14-2003, 03:08 AM
  #1  
RS2K
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 ganged servos for rudder?

I was thinking of using two 80 Oz/In $11.00 GWS servos in place of one $45 110 Oz/In servo for my 3D Freedom. I just plan on mounting them both in the tail to increase tail weight. I'll be putting a gasser on the nose so I need to add some tail weight and I think is is a good way to do it. Any thoughts?

How do I gang 2 servos using pull pull? I know how to do it with push rods.
Old 05-14-2003, 03:32 AM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 ganged servos for rudder?

You'll basically mount the two servos in line with each other. Then connect the two servo arms together with small lengths of threaded rod and ball links. Or use pre-cut specially made rods. On the servo closest to your flying surface, you'll connect your pull-pull.

Not sure if this is something you already knew or not.

Here's a pic.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	78423_4987.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	46660  
Old 05-14-2003, 04:24 AM
  #3  
RS2K
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 ganged servos for rudder?

Thanks! Does everything have to be in the same plane? Will this setup work O.K.?

:::
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	78433_6640.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	46661  
Old 05-14-2003, 05:38 PM
  #4  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 ganged servos for rudder?

I've never seen it set up that way. I've only seen it done inside the fuse. I think you'd be better off with one servo in that installation.

Mike
Old 05-19-2003, 06:35 PM
  #5  
rcflier_gi
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Use one servo

I would just use one servo. Your only saving a little by using two cheaper servos. Just the time and energy to get the linkage setup right makes it not worth it IMO. Also ganged servos have to be matched up fairly well so that they don't fight each other and while GWS have OK servos for a good price they always seemed a little impercise.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.