Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Are all servos interchangeable

Old 09-08-2008, 08:55 PM
  #1  
Mdhat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Mdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are all servos interchangeable

I wanted to know if any servo can be used with any receiver. Or do only certain companies inter change?
Old 09-08-2008, 10:53 PM
  #2  
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,760
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

I use JR, Futaba, and Hitec servos interchangably. Futaba servos have a Fin on the male connector to make sure the polarity is correct. In order to fit a Futaba male connector into a JR/Hitec female, the Fin needs to be shaved off. Other than that, they work fine. Some servos will not work properly with 6v. JR 8711 servos will work with unregulated 2cell Lithium batteries.
Old 09-09-2008, 02:25 AM
  #3  
vasek
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable


ORIGINAL: BuschBarber

Some servos will not work properly with 6v.
Which ones?
Old 09-09-2008, 08:55 AM
  #4  
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,760
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

So far, the only servos I have that won't work with 6v are my JR791 Retract servos. Horizon specifically specifies Not to use 6v. Also, they jitter at one end with 6v.

For any servo, if the Specs do not specifically state that they work with 6v, Call the Mfg.

Most Hitec servos have a rating on the box for 6v or 4.8v

JR 8711 servos work with Unregulated 2 cell LiPos (8.4v)

Some Futaba servos state Only use with Nicads - I do not know why
Old 09-09-2008, 09:19 AM
  #5  
vasek
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

I have JR/Graupner C5077 servos that says on the case 4.8 V.

I use them with 5 cell NiMh; so far no problems. Just wondering if I run a risk (or not) a servo will fail sooner or later(?)
Old 09-09-2008, 10:35 AM
  #6  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,816
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

Hi!
Yes! sooner or later.
Old 09-09-2008, 11:17 AM
  #7  
JohnW
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
JohnW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,815
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

heh... sooner or later, that's some funny stuff right there.

Yeah, all servos pretty much are interchangable. Some airtronics servos have slightly differnet pinouts, but modifications can be easily made.

As for the 4.8v, with Futaba, only the high end nylon gear FIA digitals are 4.8v only as well as some of the gyro specific servos. Don't know other brands well enough to comment on which servos are 4.8, etc.

The Futaba NiCd thing is kinda bogus. Electronics don't give a hoot about battery chemistry. I believe the point Futaba was trying to make is that the servo in question can pull large currents. High current is best delivered by NiCd chemistry, but with today's high end NiMh cells what offer fairly low impedance, A123's, etc., battery chemistry is less of a player with current issues.
Old 09-09-2008, 02:25 PM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,904
Received 338 Likes on 270 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

When NiMH first came out internal impedence in the cells was high so a digital servo that pulled a lot of current E=I*r and all that, when the current went up the voltage dropped from the high resistance. Newer NiMH cells don't have that problem.
Old 09-10-2008, 09:47 AM
  #9  
jerdavis
My Feedback: (3)
 
jerdavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

My experience has been that some JR analog servos do not respond well to Futaba receivers.
It is very subtle in that once in a while it takes a large control input to make the servo respond. Apparently they have trouble seeing the signal from the receiver. It makes your plane fly like occasionally you hit some turbulence. It took me several years to figure this out.
I have talked to other modelers who concur on this.

Jerry
Old 09-10-2008, 10:28 AM
  #10  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,816
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Are all servos interchangeable

Hi!
Do not agree at all! All sevos that I have seen and used during my 33 years in this hobby (JR, Futaba, Hitec, Multiplex, Becker, K&O Digace..you name it)...works without any problems at all.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.