Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

11.1V LiPo for TX?

Old 10-04-2008, 02:59 PM
  #1  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Anyone know if I can use a 11.1V 3 cell LiPo for my 9C tx? I've already been through the "we cannot recommend or concur with this" blah blah from Futaba. Thanks in advance.
Old 10-04-2008, 03:23 PM
  #2  
Gulliver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

works fine. I've used them for a few years. Just make sure you balance the cells occassionally. I didn't and had a fie even though I was using good charger (Triton) and it was set up correctly. I think one cell got low and the charger over charged the other cells.
Old 10-04-2008, 05:31 PM
  #3  
Bozarth
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,297
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

I have used several now for over a year in my 9CAPs: one from www.2dogrc.com and two from www.unitedhobbies.com.

Kurt
Old 10-04-2008, 05:45 PM
  #4  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Yup, you can do it, and sure you may never have a problem. But be aware that if you're using a standard 72Mhz module, that there is no regulator, it uses the battery voltage straight in. With a good 1.5V higher than a fully charged Nixx battery, you run a higher risk of failure of the output stage, especially if you run it any length of time with the antenna collapsed. I'd get a pack of Eneloops from Sanyo, the self discharge is almost as low as a lipo, 2000mAh runs a loooong time, especially if you use a fasst module, you'd get close to 12Hr. with 2000mAh.
Pete
Old 10-04-2008, 08:02 PM
  #5  
Mr. Mugen
 
Mr. Mugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: U.P., MI
Posts: 8,048
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

I have used them in my car/truck radio's with both 2.4 and 75mhz for years also with no problems. Never tried one in one of my air radios yet.

Kevin
Old 10-04-2008, 09:07 PM
  #6  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Well, I finally got word straight from Futaba that their radios are rated to 14 volts input. So, no worries about an 11.1V LiPo even at peak charge.

Now, I do know that JR and Spektrum run 11V max.
Old 10-05-2008, 03:02 PM
  #7  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: mtwister

Well, I finally got word straight from Futaba that their radios are rated to 14 volts input. So, no worries about an 11.1V LiPo even at peak charge.

Now, I do know that JR and Spektrum run 11V max.
Note: your LiPo's are at 12.6 volts at full charge, not 11.1 volts.
Old 10-05-2008, 03:59 PM
  #8  
rmh
Senior Member
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

You want a Lipo in your tx
DO IT
If things go wrong - you have no one to blame but yourself
The manufacturer says don't do it
there is no really good reason to do it
except you want to do it
so do it.
Old 10-06-2008, 05:31 AM
  #9  
gadix
My Feedback: (2)
 
gadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ModiiIn, ISRAEL
Posts: 959
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

guys
your forgetting one important thing

in order to use a LIPO insted of a NIMH or NICD you need to change the setting in the radio!!!!
theese settings are accesable via the "service menue" only!!!!!!

1. need to get into the service menu
2. chnage the type of batt use to LIPO
3. change the "low batt" alarm setting compatible to a lipo standard 3.1v per cell
4. DO NOT CHARGE wika a wall charger only with a LIPO charger!!!

i'm suer u can find threads about the service menu for Futaba
i'm a JR guy myself

Old 10-06-2008, 07:33 PM
  #10  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: Rodney


ORIGINAL: mtwister

Well, I finally got word straight from Futaba that their radios are rated to 14 volts input. So, no worries about an 11.1V LiPo even at peak charge.

Now, I do know that JR and Spektrum run 11V max.
Note: your LiPo's are at 12.6 volts at full charge, not 11.1 volts.

Well, that's why I say that at 11.1 they're fine, since Futaba says the radio is good UP TO 14V.
Old 10-06-2008, 07:37 PM
  #11  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: dick Hanson

You want a Lipo in your tx
DO IT
If things go wrong - you have no one to blame but yourself
The manufacturer says don't do it
there is no really good reason to do it
except you want to do it
so do it.
Excellent, now that I have your blessing I guess I just might. Oh and by the way, I got word from Futaba that it's fine, in fact there's a setting in the radio to change to a LiPo. So lighten up. Don't be a jerk just because you can, that makes people hate you, and who wants that?

I flew all day Sunday with my LiPo installed in the radio. I had the radio on a total of 4.4 hours and the battery was still at 10.9 volts. Normally I would have had to charge my radio twice with that much flying. So, I'm very happy with the results. For those of you that offered up usefull suggestions, thank you. For those of you that are just bitter and sore, well, enjoy it
Old 10-06-2008, 07:50 PM
  #12  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Could you please post the sequence to access the menu.
Thanks,
Pete
Old 10-06-2008, 08:09 PM
  #13  
Mr. Mugen
 
Mr. Mugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: U.P., MI
Posts: 8,048
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Yes that would be helpful to many. I wouldn't mind trying it. I have too many unused lipo's here that need a job like that. Thanks for the update on it. Glad to hear it is working well for you.

Happy landings,
Kevin
Old 10-06-2008, 11:47 PM
  #14  
Bozarth
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,297
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: mtwister


ORIGINAL: dick Hanson

You want a Lipo in your tx
DO IT
If things go wrong - you have no one to blame but yourself
The manufacturer says don't do it
there is no really good reason to do it
except you want to do it
so do it.
Excellent, now that I have your blessing I guess I just might. Oh and by the way, I got word from Futaba that it's fine, in fact there's a setting in the radio to change to a LiPo. So lighten up. Don't be a jerk just because you can, that makes people hate you, and who wants that?

I flew all day Sunday with my LiPo installed in the radio. I had the radio on a total of 4.4 hours and the battery was still at 10.9 volts. Normally I would have had to charge my radio twice with that much flying. So, I'm very happy with the results. For those of you that offered up usefull suggestions, thank you. For those of you that are just bitter and sore, well, enjoy it

mtwister, I'm 100% with you! I like your style.

Kurt Bozarth
Old 10-07-2008, 01:08 AM
  #15  
bjor
Senior Member
 
bjor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: dick Hanson

You want a Lipo in your tx
DO IT
If things go wrong - you have no one to blame but yourself
The manufacturer says don't do it
there is no really good reason to do it
except you want to do it
so do it.
Geez. Whats up with that. Bad hair day.
Old 10-07-2008, 02:46 AM
  #16  
astroboycp
Senior Member
 
astroboycp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , SINGAPORE
Posts: 575
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Anyone used lipo in their optic 6? Will 2 cell be good enough for it as I fear 3 cell might blow the tx?
Old 10-07-2008, 09:01 AM
  #17  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

A fully charged 2S lipo is only 8.4 volts, just about where the low voltage warning goes off[]
Pete
Old 10-07-2008, 09:38 AM
  #18  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

ORIGINAL: mtwister

Excellent, now that I have your blessing I guess I just might. Oh and by the way, I got word from Futaba that it's fine, in fact there's a setting in the radio to change to a LiPo.
That is very interesting. I have never heard of Futaba saying that anything other than the stock battery made for the TX as being fine. This marks a significant change in their position on the issue. I know some of their radios allow selection of dry cells versus NiMH/NiCad, but I have not seen one that allows the selection of lipo.

This excludes the transmitters like the 12Z and 14MZ that are designed to use a lithium battery. However, both of those are 7.4 volt packs (2S).

The 4PK actually has a HIGH voltage warning in it. It is made for a 5-cell NiMH or NiCad pack and will give an alarm at start up if you exceed 8 volts. A 2S lipo would be at 8.4 fully charged.
Old 10-07-2008, 10:04 AM
  #19  
Krysta
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 3,796
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

mtwister,

Not sure where or "who" you are getting your information from. But it is INCORRECT. There is no option in ANY of the Futaba transmitter service menus to change battery type.

Futaba does not now, nor ever has recommended using LiPo batteries in their transmitters. Doing so will void any warranty if there is any damage to the transmitter.

If you have a problem with your transmitter and send it into the service center for repair, any problems that are due to the type of battery you have used, your warranty is no longer good.



Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]







[/quote]
Excellent, now that I have your blessing I guess I just might. Oh and by the way, I got word from Futaba that it's fine, in fact there's a setting in the radio to change to a LiPo. So lighten up. Don't be a jerk just because you can, that makes people hate you, and who wants that?

I flew all day Sunday with my LiPo installed in the radio. I had the radio on a total of 4.4 hours and the battery was still at 10.9 volts. Normally I would have had to charge my radio twice with that much flying. So, I'm very happy with the results. For those of you that offered up usefull suggestions, thank you. For those of you that are just bitter and sore, well, enjoy it
[/quote]
Old 10-07-2008, 10:45 AM
  #20  
Mr. Mugen
 
Mr. Mugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: U.P., MI
Posts: 8,048
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

All I have owned is futaba radios for air use and to this day I have not seen or heard of any info that they pass along. Why is this? Your on top of things that "will vod your warranty" but thats it. Why not get one of those Futaba guy's (the ones we can't hear from" to come here and explain some of these things? They obviously don't fill you moderators in either or reps as your called. You's give us the same info that comes with our radios. What exactly do you's know that we don't when we buy our radio's? Sounds like they just make you study their manuals and repeat that info to us. It is getting fuzzy around here. I have about 4000.00 wrapped up in Futaba radios and it seems like I am wasting my funds....no? I pondered may systems when I bought my 12FG and thought why not stay with what I know......seems like I should have chosen a company with knowledge of their product better.

Kevin
Old 10-07-2008, 11:25 AM
  #21  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?


ORIGINAL: Krysta

mtwister,

Not sure where or "who" you are getting your information from. But it is INCORRECT. There is no option in ANY of the Futaba transmitter service menus to change battery type.

Futaba does not now, nor ever has recommended using LiPo batteries in their transmitters. Doing so will void any warranty if there is any damage to the transmitter.

If you have a problem with your transmitter and send it into the service center for repair, any problems that are due to the type of battery you have used, your warranty is no longer good.



Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]






Excellent, now that I have your blessing I guess I just might. Oh and by the way, I got word from Futaba that it's fine, in fact there's a setting in the radio to change to a LiPo. So lighten up. Don't be a jerk just because you can, that makes people hate you, and who wants that?

I flew all day Sunday with my LiPo installed in the radio. I had the radio on a total of 4.4 hours and the battery was still at 10.9 volts. Normally I would have had to charge my radio twice with that much flying. So, I'm very happy with the results. For those of you that offered up usefull suggestions, thank you. For those of you that are just bitter and sore, well, enjoy it
[/quote]

[/quote]

Krysta, while I thank you for the verbal "warning", I have to let you know I'm far out of warranty so I'm not at all concerned with this. Unlike many others who venture outside the box, I fully understand that I'm liable for my own actions.

Also, I never mentioned that they (Futaba) recommend using a LiPo, but again, thank you.

Where I got my information, is from the horses mouth itself For those of us that are able to actually read a manual, and a schematic, it's plain as the daylight itself. Again, thank you
Old 10-07-2008, 11:27 AM
  #22  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

For the nay-sayers, all I have to say is that it works, and it works very well. Now, use that as you may.
Old 10-07-2008, 11:31 AM
  #23  
Krysta
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 3,796
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

Kevin,

I am not sure how much more information you are wanting me to give. As I work in the Futaba Service Center, I know and have access to the service menu's of each Futaba transmitter. There are no transmitters that have the option of changing battery type in any of them.

We get questions from the public, and if we do not know the answer, we ask Futaba Japan. We have contacted them more than a few times on this topic, and their answer to the use of Lipo's is that they do not recommend it as they may cause damage to the transmitter.
We did not feel that we needed more specifics than that.

If you want to use Lipo's, you are more than welcome to use them. But again, any damage to your transmitter caused by these will void the warranty.

Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]





Old 10-07-2008, 11:48 AM
  #24  
mtwister
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

ORIGINAL: Krysta

Kevin,

I am not sure how much more information you are wanting me to give. As I work in the Futaba Service Center, I know and have access to the service menu's of each Futaba transmitter. There are no transmitters that have the option of changing battery type in any of them.

We get questions from the public, and if we do not know the answer, we ask Futaba Japan. We have contacted them more than a few times on this topic, and their answer to the use of Lipo's is that they do not recommend it as they may cause damage to the transmitter.
We did not feel that we needed more specifics than that.

If you want to use Lipo's, you are more than welcome to use them. But again, any damage to your transmitter caused by these will void the warranty.

Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]






Thank you for your approval, now I can sleep tonight LOL...
Old 10-07-2008, 12:05 PM
  #25  
Mr. Mugen
 
Mr. Mugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: U.P., MI
Posts: 8,048
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 11.1V LiPo for TX?

ORIGINAL: Krysta

Kevin,

I am not sure how much more information you are wanting me to give. As I work in the Futaba Service Center, I know and have access to the service menu's of each Futaba transmitter. There are no transmitters that have the option of changing battery type in any of them.

We get questions from the public, and if we do not know the answer, we ask Futaba Japan. We have contacted them more than a few times on this topic, and their answer to the use of Lipo's is that they do not recommend it as they may cause damage to the transmitter.
We did not feel that we needed more specifics than that.

If you want to use Lipo's, you are more than welcome to use them. But again, any damage to your transmitter caused by these will void the warranty.

Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]





It just seems so hard to get a straight answer out of Futaba. I am a loyal user and love them but it seems they are not as loyal as people like myself. Since being online (only been a few years) I have read hours and hours of pages upon pages of confused frustrated futaba customers that get cookie cutter responses from futaba reps. I see the opposite thing happen when there is a issue with other companies products. Heck even on here they put the warning for them on top of every forum. I just wish I could say the same for my radio's mfgr I guess. No hate intended. I will probably always fly Futaba if they keep working good for me. Should I encounter a problem like these other fellas, I may have other feelings when treated like that. Why wouldn't I?

If anything can be learned for Futaba's sake it is to get a better communication link to their customers. I and many others would be satisfied with that I am sure.

kevin

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.