Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Old 06-04-2003, 01:36 AM
  #51  
lownslo
Senior Member
 
lownslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 996
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Mine did basically the same thing. Radio South found a cracked solder joint, where the antenna clip is soldered to the circuit board. I had a plane crash because I didn't do a range check that day. I put the blame on "dumb thumbs"!!! Three days later I DID do a range check. That's when I discovered I had a radio problem. A lot of us, (me for sure), get complacent with our equipment's reliability. Now I am forcing myself to range check EVERY time out. ....lownslo... Bob
Old 06-10-2003, 07:26 PM
  #52  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Today I called Futaba to see if they have made any progress... they said they just got it today and it would be 3-5 days before they looked at it.

I sent it 2-3 day USPS shipping and it only went one state over so they should of had it on Saturday or Monday at the latest. Next thing is the guy I talked to on Thursday said it would take 2-3 days before they could look at it. I'm already starting to wonder about this...

I've been offered a killer deal on a new JR8103. With that said, I don't know how long I can wait.
Old 06-10-2003, 07:52 PM
  #53  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Dave,

Do you still think its the 9c causing the problems? I thought you were still glitching this weekend..
Old 06-10-2003, 08:23 PM
  #54  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

You know it's really hard to say Wayne. We tried Matt's 8U and it locked out 2-3 times then went rock solid. Being we were unable to find out why that happened I didn't feel comfortable flying it. We also tried Tim's 8U and rx. The range test was right on the border line of making me feel comfortable but again I passed on flying it. Later we tried Chris' JR rx and Jons' JR10x radio and that baby was again rock freaking solid but by that time I was to worried about being the talk of the Fly-In for another year. LOL

I figured once I get my radio back I have no choice but to make it solid because this is the radio I'll be using.

However at the same time you know who has been telling me to switch to JR since last year so I told him to get me a killer deal on a 8103 and I would. Well he came through on his end so I've all but ordered it. At a price less than I paid for my 9C it's really hard to pass up. After all I would have ordered a 8103 to start with but the 9C was about $125 cheaper and I already had all Futaba stuff.

But to answer your question... No I'm not 100% sure it is the radio but everything pointed to it so we'll wait and see if Futaba finds anything wrong with it and go from there.
Old 06-10-2003, 08:27 PM
  #55  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Better safe than sorry....

You will like the 8103.
Old 06-10-2003, 08:40 PM
  #56  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Well the plane came home in one piece so I'm not mad about that.
Old 06-11-2003, 02:29 AM
  #57  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

I was having a similar problem, in this case it also involved a 9C. I was describing my problem to one of the club "geezers" the other day, he said, before you send your radio away for service, try changing your RX switch. I did that and my problem vanished! My radio will be going in for a thorough examination at the end of the season however...
Old 06-13-2003, 08:26 PM
  #58  
rcman3
My Feedback: (295)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Range problems

I had the same thing happen to my RD 6000 and it was the antenna. It looked perfect, but had a break in it. Swap receivers and see if it makes a difference. Patrick
Old 06-13-2003, 08:38 PM
  #59  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

I called Futaba today and they said my radio was shipped back out yesterday. I just hope it works when I get it back....
Old 06-13-2003, 09:48 PM
  #60  
Jim C.
Senior Member
 
Jim C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: armagh, PA
Posts: 730
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

wow.... this thread has me rivoted.. please keep us informed of what comes out of this....
Old 06-14-2003, 02:59 PM
  #61  
mrc100
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default interested

Yes please keep us posted!
Old 06-17-2003, 12:22 AM
  #62  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Well I got it back today... I sent both my radio and my rx and here is what the receipt says. You tell me what they changed because it's all greek to me. Remember I used the rx with a friends radio and it seemed to work fine with his radio and his crystals so I'm confused as to what all they did.

Initial tests do show a much better range test so maybe they fixed it.

Here is the receipt, I linked it to my site because I'd had to shrink it to small to read to post it here.

http://www.********.net/images/dcp_1031.jpg
Old 06-17-2003, 12:30 AM
  #63  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

One thing that I did notice is that the 3 rotary knobs in the middle looks to have been replaced. I say this because I swear they had a white line on them before where as now they don't. I'm trying to look through all my old pictures to see if I can confirm this.

I do remember that eariler models of the 9C has something changed or something that had to do with those knobs.
Old 06-17-2003, 06:31 AM
  #64  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Dave, the older version had the"v-tail bug" and the Vr knobs were shorter and had a white indexing mark. The newer version has taller Vr knobs without the white mark. Did they repair your radio or replaced it ??
Old 06-17-2003, 06:52 AM
  #65  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

They repaired mine and it does have the taller knobs without the white lines. None of my pics show white lines so maybe I was just confused...
Old 06-17-2003, 11:10 AM
  #66  
SMALLFLY-
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
SMALLFLY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 2,156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

From the components list I would say they replaced part of the RF output circuit.
Old 06-17-2003, 05:40 PM
  #67  
Stratos
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 390
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Well.... if you read the technician's comments at the bottom of the page you'll see that they did change a chip coil in the tx but most importantly they changed "the final output transistor and 2 tuning coils in" the module itself.
The rest, I think, is basic maintenance.

So you did have at least a bad module.

Better luck from now on...

Stratos.-
Old 06-22-2003, 06:55 PM
  #68  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

While this may not be of help, my initial radio installation in my PW Extra would only allow me 30 paces (90 feet) before I lost signal strength (PCM). I re-routed the antenne and tried again. I got 100 paces with the engine running and 100 paces with the engine off. While I would not say it was a true 300 feet, it was well over 200.

Mind you, I have flown with a short range test, but when it is shorter than 50 paces, I do a range check each day I fly.
Old 06-22-2003, 11:40 PM
  #69  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Well what ever they did I can't complain any more... I flew my plane several times this weekend without a single glitch in the radio system. Hats off to Futaba for fixing it and in such short time.
Old 06-22-2003, 11:49 PM
  #70  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Hi Dave, what did Futaba say was the problem ? Is it a warranty issue ?
Old 06-22-2003, 11:57 PM
  #71  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

They covered it under warranty... here is a picture of the reciept.

http://www.********.net/images/dcp_1031.jpg
Old 06-23-2003, 12:05 AM
  #72  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Hi Dave, I guess it's hard to pinpoint the module as they replaced components from the Tx, Rx and the module.
Old 06-23-2003, 12:15 AM
  #73  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

It's hard to pin point it exactly but the bottom line is they fixed it and sent it back in just 2 days. One can't ask for better service than that!
Old 06-23-2003, 12:18 AM
  #74  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Yup, great job Futaba !

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.