Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

FF9: Flaperon or Elevon for Canard aircraft?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2008, 03:57 AM
Propellars

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FF9: Flaperon or Elevon for Canard aircraft?

Hi there
I’m new to a FF9, and I’m going to programme it for a friend with a canard-type motor aircraft. 1 servo in each wing, and 1 servo for the canard. The elevator function is done by both canard and wingservoes, and the aileron is done by the wingservoes.

Should I use Flaperon for the wings, and using the “elevator-function” for the canard, or should I use Elevons for the wings, and making a separate mix for the canard, so it follows my elevator-stick?

I will be switching the elevator of during flight (when dual-rate is activated), and will also be making a mix of up-elevator on the canard, when the retracts are down. Does it conflict in any ways with the Flaperon or Elevon functions?
Old 12-07-2008, 11:37 AM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: FF9: Flaperon or Elevon for Canard aircraft?

What exactly is an FF9?
Old 12-07-2008, 04:20 PM
Propellars

Sorry for the confusion , that might just be the danish name for the Futaba transmitter series: 9C (9CAP, 9CAF, 9CHP and 9CHF)
Old 12-07-2008, 05:34 PM
Flyfalcons

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Looks like either method would work; I would probably use the elevon function for your wing servos and run a mix to your canard servo. If you use the flaperon mix, you can run the elev-flap mix to make both work together.
Old 12-07-2008, 10:14 PM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I agree with the idea of using Elevons for the Wing Servos and then use a Programmable Mix for the Canards.