Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Airtronics Radios

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2002, 03:10 AM
kylenlord

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airtronics Radios

Why did airtronics switch their connectors to Z-connectors, which are identical to Hitec plugs. I have 6 standard plug airtronics radios, including a very old Vision, and a newer Radiant. I have been flying these radios for 5 years, and have had flawless performance from all of them.
Old 03-21-2002, 06:33 AM
4*60
My Feedback: (41)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Because in the new world of the "powerful" consumer they were going to lose out with their proprietary plugs. Nobody wants to be restricted to a monopoly and pay the price that they can demand. Even today their crystals are wway more than some other brands. Brand loyalty is on it's way out to some degree and price dictates sales!
Old 03-21-2002, 06:47 AM
pilotkelowna
My Feedback: (1)

I have used Airtronics equipment for over 20 years, and their performance has been excellent, and continually reliable. Seems a few years ago they decided to limit new product development and their newer models seem to be lagging behind what the the competition offers.
Why they went to the Z connector is beyond me and most other Airtronics users I know - the aftermarket servo makers did and will contimue to make Airtroncs servos with the old connector if there is a demand. Good thing, I have 4 Vanguards and 2 Infinity's, and over 30 servos which function as new.
Old 03-22-2002, 03:27 AM
Hots_Flyer
My Feedback: (2)

Your can get adapters to use the old connector with the "Z" connector receivers.
Old 03-22-2002, 03:42 AM
kylenlord

I know, but I just solder on connectors for old airtronics, that way I don't have to worry about the connectors coming loose. I was able to buy 5 connectors for $8. I just have to remember to reverse the polarity.