Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

What's your technique for centering a servo?

Old 01-19-2009, 01:51 PM
TypesetThis

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's your technique for centering a servo?

I built my first kit this weekend and got it up and running just fine, but my biggest problem at the moment is keeping the servo centered while putting the arm on... i've re-centered it multiple times and then put the arm back on and put it back into my car and each time i try, i have to adjust the trim almost all the way to one side to get the car to drive straight... is it just that i'm a beginner and it takes many tries to get it right, or is it that i have a cheapo servo?.. i have a futaba radio with an S3003 servo... i was wondering what your technique is for getting your servo centered and putting it into whatever type of vehicle you operate... maybe there is something i'm doing that's causing it to become uncentered in the installation process... or maybe i broke it before i even got it in the car the first time...
Old 01-19-2009, 02:23 PM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: What's your technique for centering a servo?

Remove the arm from the servo. Connect the servo to the receiver. Turn on both transmitter and receiver. Make sure the steering wheel and the trim are both centered. The servo should now be centered. Put the arm on the servo so that it is 90-degrees to the long side servo case. If it's off a little bit, remove the arm and put it back on 180 degrees from the first attempt. The servo output shaft has an odd number of splines, so if putting the arm on one way isn't exactly-centered, then putting it on 180-degrees from the first try should bring it back to center. Re-secure the servo arm onto the servo. Your servo and arm are now centered.