Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Is this normal for digital servos?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 11:14 PM
DwightMann

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this normal for digital servos?

I am new to digital servos, so I don't know what to expect.
Do I need a special servo programmer? What do they do?
My servos have a rythmic humm. There is no binding or any difficulty moving the surfaces. I have had standard servos humm, but it has always been a steady humm that ends when I move the sticks. This is different
Old 01-31-2009, 11:15 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Is this normal for digital servos?

Totally normal. They all sound a little buzzy.
Old 01-31-2009, 11:26 PM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Most digital servos require the use of a Matchbox type device to Match servos that will be used in multiples to control one surface, like Rudder, for example. Hitec digital servos have a memory chip that lets you Program the servo for Speed, Direction, Neutral, End Point, Dead Band, Pulse Width, etc. This means that each individual servo can be matched for many parameters. Spektrum has some programmable servos, as well.

If you have enough channels on your Tx, you can put multiple servos on Ailerons, Flaps, Rudder, Elevator, etc., on separate channels, and mix them in the Tx. You will not be able to match as many parameters, but it will save on the cost of Matchboxes.
Old 01-31-2009, 11:39 PM
DwightMann

I only have one servo (JR DS8411) per control surface. When I slam the rudder full deflection, the whole tail shakes (no shaking when I go slow). I am thinking of using my JR 9303 to slow the servo speed. Should I even be concerned about the shaking? I am usually smooth with the sticks which would be the same as slowing the servo speed.
Old 01-31-2009, 11:44 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)