Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Old 09-14-2010, 09:34 PM
  #2976  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
craigteffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Guys/Mike
I need some help finding the trainer cables i need the hitec numbers are 58320(several hobby shops have this one) and 58321(every where i call they cannont help with this cable).

Tower and all the major hobby shops carry the trainer cable but not the adapter cable.


Mike can i purchase these thru Hitec?

i would also like to find an adapter cable that would allow me to go from the Aurora(Master) to square(Futaba slave) could not find a part number for this one.
Old 09-15-2010, 09:59 AM
  #2977  
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: craigteffe

Guys/Mike
I need some help finding the trainer cables i need the hitec numbers are 58320(several hobby shops have this one) and 58321(every where i call they cannont help with this cable).

Tower and all the major hobby shops carry the trainer cable but not the adapter cable.


Mike can i purchase these thru Hitec?

i would also like to find an adapter cable that would allow me to go from the Aurora(Master) to square(Futaba slave) could not find a part number for this one.

Call Hobby Horse 1-800-604-6229. If they dont already have it in stock for you, they can add it to their weekly orders we send them.
Old 09-15-2010, 10:23 AM
  #2978  
Member
 
dkennedy35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Will the 58321 work between a JR Buddy box and the Aurora?

- Don
Old 09-15-2010, 03:51 PM
  #2979  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: dkennedy35 Will the 58321 work between a JR Buddy box and the Aurora? - Don
Negative.
1. The leads are wired differently.
2. The output to receiver channels is sent in adifferent order.

Aurora: Trainer / Buddy system Master & Slave function Set-up. refers

<span style="font-size: smaller">Aurora A9, Spectra Pro &amp; Optima - FAQ &amp; Undocumented Features - Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}</span>

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model &amp; RC FAQ Web Links
Old 09-15-2010, 05:48 PM
  #2980  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,226
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi

The Telemetry is finally out ,....................... we,ll see how well it works

Since the telemetry is out is there any chance of getting the instructions before hand ?

Michel
Old 09-15-2010, 06:02 PM
  #2981  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,226
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi

Sorry ,.... double post

Michel
Old 09-15-2010, 11:34 PM
  #2982  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 214
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Looks like you need to order the tray from Europe.
John

http://www.bw-design.be/shop/product/4992-tray-aurora/
Old 09-16-2010, 05:22 PM
  #2983  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hamar, Norway, NORWAY
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Thank you so much! That's no problem, I live in Norway/Europe, so that should work out just fine

I guess this ain't a official Hitac product then?
Old 09-17-2010, 09:59 AM
  #2984  
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: Jesper1979

Thank you so much! That's no problem, I live in Norway/Europe, so that should work out just fine

I guess this ain't a official Hitac product then?

No it's not. Our tray looks quite a bit different than that one.
Old 09-17-2010, 10:15 AM
  #2985  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hamar, Norway, NORWAY
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Any link to the one you sell? I would like to keep it all hitec, no clone stuff.
Old 09-17-2010, 10:41 AM
  #2986  
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

ORIGINAL: Jesper1979

Any link to the one you sell? I would like to keep it all hitec, no clone stuff.
No link but here are some bad pictures I took.
This will give yo a rough idea of what it looks like anyways.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12032.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	1502305   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni22898.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	1502306   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ms42749.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	1502307  
Old 09-17-2010, 02:07 PM
  #2987  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

One question.

When I link an Optima 7 to my radio and press down and hold the button on the receiver both receiver LEDs are solid. The manual says the red LED has to be solid doesn't say anything about the blue LED. Is this OK or normal? The receiver connects to the radio without problems.

Happy Landings
Old 09-20-2010, 05:30 PM
  #2988  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 599
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

My Turbine F16 has or I should say had 67 flights. The last 2 flights I changed to the Aroura 9. Set up as follows;

20 amp regulator fed by 2 x 2200 ma 2S lipos, Hitec aroura 9 ch rx with Y lead to the 2 elevator servos JR 8711 25 kg individual channels so the Y lead was fed power by the 2 power leads that exit the regulator. So I was effectively feeding power direct to the 2 most hungry servos 8711. 2 x Hitec 5955 TG on ailerons and small servo for steering and rudder. 6 servos in total and EV5U valve to control retracts and gear doors.

2nd flight with Hitec system and I go a bit harder than first flight, but not any herder than the prior JR system using the power safe 9 ch rx JR.

Seems elevator servo fail for some reason? Did it overload the rx more than 15 amps??? Somehwere in my Hitec set up there is a failure or could be servo failure, however ironic it fails just after 2 flights with Hitec set up? 65 flights JR no problems. Did my regulator fail for some reason? Can the rx truly cope with 15 amps?

Not saying this is Hitec fault, however strange fail just after 2 Hitec flights?

$6k total loss.

Any input pelase.

Cheers,

Mav
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Kh17351.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	90.5 KB
ID:	1504318  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:42 PM
  #2989  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
craigteffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I have 53 hours on my Aurora and no problems as of yet. I run 50cc gassers and all of my setups use A123 batteries and hitec servos, mostly 7955's with a few 7985's if your running15 amps thru that receiver then you have some other problem. The receiver will handle more than the connectors will.
Old 09-20-2010, 06:09 PM
  #2990  
My Feedback: (61)
 
CAT POwer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rogersville, TN
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

<div style="margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255); "><span style="font-size: small;">Mavrik,  Why do you think the </span><span style="-webkit-border-horizontal-spacing: 1px; -webkit-border-vertical-spacing: 1px; "><span style="font-size: small;">elevator servo failed ? </span></span></div><div style="margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255); "><span style="-webkit-border-horizontal-spacing: 1px; -webkit-border-vertical-spacing: 1px; "><span style="font-size: small;">Did you have any control on any surface ?</span></span></div>
Old 09-20-2010, 07:05 PM
  #2991  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,226
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: Mavrik!

My Turbine F16 has or I should say had 67 flights. The last 2 flights I changed to the Aroura 9. Set up as follows;

20 amp regulator fed by 2 x 2200 ma 2S lipos, Hitec aroura 9 ch rx with Y lead to the 2 elevator servos JR 8711 25 kg individual channels so the Y lead was fed power by the 2 power leads that exit the regulator. So I was effectively feeding power direct to the 2 most hungry servos 8711. 2 x Hitec 5955 TG on ailerons and small servo for steering and rudder. 6 servos in total and EV5U valve to control retracts and gear doors.

2nd flight with Hitec system and I go a bit harder than first flight, but not any herder than the prior JR system using the power safe 9 ch rx JR.

Seems elevator servo fail for some reason? Did it overload the rx more than 15 amps??? Somehwere in my Hitec set up there is a failure or could be servo failure, however ironic it fails just after 2 flights with Hitec set up? 65 flights JR no problems. Did my regulator fail for some reason? Can the rx truly cope with 15 amps?

Not saying this is Hitec fault, however strange fail just after 2 Hitec flights?

$6k total loss.

Any input pelase.

Cheers,

Mav
Hi
I am truly sorry for youre lose , it most certainly is no laughing matter at 6K .

But ,.................... I would cut a little bit of the burnt part off , and stick it up on the wall like a , KILL . It would remind me just how expensive our little hobby is . It,s always hard to come out of a crash such as youres , been there , done that .

I hope you find youre answer and reason for the crash , but it is highly unlikely []


Regards

Michel
Old 09-20-2010, 08:20 PM
  #2992  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: michel gravelle Hi The Telemetry is finally out ,....................... we,ll see how well it works Since the telemetry is out is there any chance of getting the instructions before hand ? Michel
Instruction sheets enclosed with complete system are attached hereto.

Power it with the male/male connector from an open channel to the connector on the top
User guide should beup at www.hitecrcd.comin a couple of days; Hitec USAjust getting the artwork finalized. - copy draftex pictures attached, see PDF.

<span style="font-size: smaller">Aurora A9, Spectra Pro &amp; Optima - FAQ &amp; Undocumented Features - Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}</span>

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model &amp; RC FAQ Web Links
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43234.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	1504425   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id97650.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	116.5 KB
ID:	1504426   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30847.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	105.7 KB
ID:	1504428   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh15120.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	23.0 KB
ID:	1504429   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17213.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	1504430  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Ki19661.pdf (51.9 KB, 65 views)
Old 09-20-2010, 09:02 PM
  #2993  
72
 
72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arthur, ON, CANADA
Posts: 332
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Did I read correctly that the fuel sensor will only work on glow fuel? what would be the difference between glow and gas for measuring? Specific gravity or something like that? When will this be fixed? I had to turn down buying the full sensor package this week because of this. Thanks.
Old 09-21-2010, 07:04 AM
  #2994  
Member
 
ExcaliburIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Temp difference? Density? I knew they were having trouble getting the thing to work. Kinda throws a wrench in all us gas passer's plans......

I hope they continue to work on the issue and get gas working properly.
Old 09-21-2010, 04:09 PM
  #2995  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

ORIGINAL: Mavrik!

My Turbine F16 has or I should say had 67 flights. The last 2 flights I changed to the Aroura 9. Set up as follows;

20 amp regulator fed by 2 x 2200 ma 2S lipos, Hitec aroura 9 ch rx with Y lead to the 2 elevator servos JR 8711 25 kg individual channels so the Y lead was fed power by the 2 power leads that exit the regulator. So I was effectively feeding power direct to the 2 most hungry servos 8711. 2 x Hitec 5955 TG on ailerons and small servo for steering and rudder. 6 servos in total and EV5U valve to control retracts and gear doors.

2nd flight with Hitec system and I go a bit harder than first flight, but not any herder than the prior JR system using the power safe 9 ch rx JR.

Seems elevator servo fail for some reason? Did it overload the rx more than 15 amps??? Somehwere in my Hitec set up there is a failure or could be servo failure, however ironic it fails just after 2 flights with Hitec set up? 65 flights JR no problems. Did my regulator fail for some reason? Can the rx truly cope with 15 amps?

Not saying this is Hitec fault, however strange fail just after 2 Hitec flights?

$6k total loss.

Any input pelase.

Cheers,

Mav

Very sorry to hear about the loss of your model. You mention that the elevator servo failed... is this verified? If so then, it appears to be only a coincidence that it failed on the second flight with the Aurora. I think I understand the wiring with the Y's which would basically take the current load out of the servo bus, which is good, so the current load through the Rx would then not have been an issue with a servo failure. The Optima servo bus can easily handle 15A+ as we've been flying with up to 8 HV servos capable of drawing 4A+ under extreme load with the Optima 9 in giant scale planes using dual lipos for power with zero issues.

If you discover any other factors you feel might have caused a problem, let us know.

Mike.
Old 09-22-2010, 08:47 PM
  #2996  
My Feedback: (97)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Mike,

This question has most likely been asked before so I hope you don't mind repeating the answer: When connecting 7 to 8 HV servos, and thinking about the current requirements that could be demanded during extreme manuevers, what is the best method to deliver the current? Without knowing your suggested solution, I would use a solution that I have done several times in the past: A Servocity.com powerboard. These units are under $20.00 and allow you to separate power from signal.

I am interested in what you suggest as all I have is GS planes (33% and larger).

Thanks.

P-man.
Old 09-22-2010, 09:42 PM
  #2997  
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I used the Servo City Servo Power Board set up in my Yak.
This worked out well.
The jumper wire is to add a second elevator servo.
This is a good product, and I would recommend it.

Greg
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87441.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	1505501  
Old 09-22-2010, 10:58 PM
  #2998  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: rhome, TX
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

i just searched servo citys website and could not find this servo board
do you have a link to it
Old 09-22-2010, 11:54 PM
  #2999  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

ORIGINAL: plasticman

Mike,

This question has most likely been asked before so I hope you don't mind repeating the answer: When connecting 7 to 8 HV servos, and thinking about the current requirements that could be demanded during extreme manuevers, what is the best method to deliver the current? Without knowing your suggested solution, I would use a solution that I have done several times in the past: A Servocity.com powerboard. These units are under $20.00 and allow you to separate power from signal.

I am interested in what you suggest as all I have is GS planes (33% and larger).

Thanks.

P-man.
No need... Check out team pilot Brandon Chitty's set up below in his 35% 3D Hobby Shops Extra 330 with 8 HV servos , a single Optima 9 RX and dual Lipos w/safety switches. Clean and simple!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzpbHd5O4Y8[/youtube]


And for your viewing pleasure, here's Brandon flying that same plane in one of the most unique flights you'll ever see!


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35fHR6WXI_Y[/youtube]
Old 09-23-2010, 03:50 AM
  #3000  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


ORIGINAL: boothg-3 i just searched servo citys website and could not find this servo board
do you have a link to it
http://www.servocity.com/html/servo_power_boards.html

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model &amp; RC FAQ Web Links

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.