Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Rudder servo zero

Old 06-24-2003, 02:33 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Humble, TX
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder servo zero

I have a Futaba 6 channel radion, non computer, and my rudder servo is not zeroed. Is there any way I can go in the radio or the servo and change the zero setting. No matter which way I put the servo arm on the post it still comes out offset a little.

Also on my rudder pull pull system, how much tension should there be on the cables to the rudder?
Old 06-24-2003, 03:16 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder servo zero

Hi Jim,

Not familiar with Futaba but you should have a "sub-trim" menu for all channels. Get the arm as close as possible and then adjust your position using the rudder sub-trim feature.

As for the tension, you should have a fair amount but not so much that you are flexing the servo arm. Somewhere between playing a tune on it and having it flapping in the breeze is fine.

Matt
Old 06-24-2003, 03:28 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Humble, TX
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder servo zero

Originally posted by 3DME
Hi Jim,

Not familiar with Futaba but you should have a "sub-trim" menu for all channels. Get the arm as close as possible and then adjust your position using the rudder sub-trim feature.

As for the tension, you should have a fair amount but not so much that you are flexing the servo arm. Somewhere between playing a tune on it and having it flapping in the breeze is fine.

Matt
Mine is not a computer radio. All I have is the rudder trim slider below the stick. I kinda wanted it to come out with that slider at mid position. Surely there must be a pot somewhere I can adjust.
Old 06-24-2003, 07:42 PM
  #4  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,897
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Rudder servo zero

I've always been able to get the horn to line up be rotating it either 90 or 180 degrees on the output shaft.

Pull/pull cables should be snug, but not so tight they sing like a guitar string. Make sure you are using a BB servo with your pull/pull installation or you will wear out the final gear in short order.

John
Old 06-24-2003, 07:56 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo zero

Those 4 arm jobs are supposed to split a spline differently
evevey 90deg .mine dident either so I got a round one from lhs & drilled it where I wanted & cut away for clearance with a zona saw. Don't look like factory but is where i wanted to go.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.