Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Reload this Page >

Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

Old 08-19-2009, 12:21 PM
  #1  
crashland 73
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

I have some surface servos that I use in my airplanes. I was wondering what the difference was? I think I might have done the opposite in the past too, air servo in surface vehicles. I dont mean the torque value either.
Old 08-19-2009, 12:31 PM
  #2  
mrbigg
My Feedback: (21)
 
mrbigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Streator, IL
Posts: 4,780
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

I've used Airtronics 102 servos in the air and surface and never a problem. Some brands label for each use, but why I don't know. Waste of time.
Old 08-19-2009, 12:38 PM
  #3  
Druss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 7,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

I know that some servos are not recommended for helicopters above a certain size due to vibrations. Other than that you can use them interchangably as long as you have the speed and torque you want.
Old 08-19-2009, 12:50 PM
  #4  
crashland 73
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

thats what I was wondering. i guess they just do that to make more money to folks that figure one is for only one type.
Old 08-19-2009, 03:43 PM
  #5  
P-40 DRIVER
Senior Member
 
P-40 DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,623
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

vibration issues is normally why servos has restrictions.
Old 08-19-2009, 03:46 PM
  #6  
crashland 73
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

i dont guess i see what you mean.
Old 08-19-2009, 10:58 PM
  #7  
JohnW
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
JohnW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,815
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Whats the difference between surface and air servos?

Some of the servo's I've seen marketed for surface application have an extra o-ring seal by the output shaft compared to thier aircraft equal. I'd assume this would be to help prevent dust/water etc from entering the servo, which typically isn't an issue with aircraft/helis. Other than the seal, I've never noticed a diff and have used them interchangeably as others have posted.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.