Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

looking at a new radio

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2009, 01:22 PM
Gringo Flyer
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking at a new radio

I have been flying with a 7CAP for about 5 years and have really been happy with it. I wouldn't even be looking at another radio right now but I need to make the switch over to 2.4

My first thought was to get the same radio in 2.4 but looking around the airtronics RDS8000 really peaked my interest because of the price. I am not needing servos, just the radio and a rx. Are there any other radios at a good price that I should consider? It looks like http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/751700.asp is going to be hard to beat price wise if this is a good radio. I'm not sure that I can justify spending $130 more just for the Futaba.

Any reason I should stay away from the RDS8000?
Old 12-03-2009, 01:56 PM
Pilot232
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: looking at a new radio

The RDS8000 is an excellent radio. I was a JR flyer for 30+ years and now fly Airtronics exclusively. Check out the manual on line. You won't be disappointed.

Travis
Old 12-03-2009, 02:17 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

There is no reason to stay away, but lots of reason to join us. It is a great radio. If you have the time there is a very long thread on it. It has every thing about it. If you do get one, you will be very happy with it.

Dru.
Old 12-03-2009, 03:04 PM
MikeMayberry
My Feedback: (1)

Another option would be the Hitec Optic 6 w/(2) 7Ch RX's for $199.99 http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/755500.asp

Or convert your 7C with a module. You can get the Hitec Spectra 2.4 w/(2) 7Channels RX's for $129.99.

Mike.
Old 12-03-2009, 04:20 PM
Gringo Flyer

I've seen the Hitec with 2 rxs and thats a great deal and one I am looking at. My first tx was a hitec.