Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Need Help matching servos with my project????

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 08:14 PM
ibradshaw2001

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help matching servos with my project????

Hello folks. i am a newbie so no long life stories before i get to the point so here it is. i have just gotten the urge to build a 1/5 th scale or larger weedwacker monster. i have started with the controller
and receiver that i hope will be fine. it is a JR max multi function am digital proportional radio control system. 4 channel abc & w system. 4 channelservo reverse switch for radio control airplane. it works but what i dont know about is what else i need. i have an old rc10 b4 that has a speed controller and receiver. what i need to know is if i need a speed controller to provide power to my receiver or not. i will also need to know what size or ounce servos i will need to provide fair turning power for the front wheels. i think that i will only need to use three servos rather than four as i will need throttle steering and brakes. please any help would be very useful. one last thing is what type of voltage do i need for the receiver. as previously stated the rc10 b4 works off a 7.2 volt battery and it ran the 4 channel receiver just fine. will 7.2 volts be enough or should i go bigger??.. please elaborate on your past experiences with what a newbie runs into.
Old 12-07-2009, 10:00 PM
carrellh

Default RE: Need Help matching servos with my project????

I assume you are building a monster truck of some sort?

If the radio system you have ("for radio control plane") operates on the 72 MHz frequency band it is against FCC rules to use it for a surface vehicle. Surface vehicles can use 27 MHz, 49 MHz, 75 MHz, or 2.4 GHz.

I do not know the answer to the voltage questions.
Old 12-08-2009, 08:08 AM
ibradshaw2001