RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Several Questions... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/11634710-several-questions.html)

JoshJdog 12-06-2016 02:37 PM

Several Questions...

Hi I'm new to rc planes and have a couple questions about the wiring. The plane I'm building is a trainer(sig kadet junior) and I will be putting a K&B .28 on it. It has a 48 in. wingspan. I found some servos that look good for a good price but I'm concerned with their weight. They weigh 49g. Should I look into micro servos for this plane or will these be fine? It is a 3 channel plane so I will need three of whatever I end up getting. This is also a really stupid question but I see these planes with switches coming out the side to turn on the radio equipment, do the transmitters come with them? Is there anything else in the electrical circuit I need besides a receiver, servos, and battery? Hope someone can help!

Xpress 12-06-2016 03:34 PM

Sounds like you have a lot of reading to do... ;)

Here is a basic rundown of what's going to happen:

-You will need to pick a transmitter, generally they do not come with servos nowadays, only receivers. Modern 2.4Ghz transmitters and receivers are proprietary and only work with each other, for example Hitec only works with Hitec and Futaba only works with Futaba. There are some Chinese brands that can interchange but I always recommend using OEM equipment. Since you're going to use a glow engine for power, I'm going to suggest you use a receiver that is NOT designated as a 'Parkflyer' type receiver.