Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

HPI RS4 Transmission clutch.

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 04:55 AM
dsmcraze

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPI RS4 Transmission clutch.

I have discovered over some searching that it is fairly common having a difficult time getting these things to shift into 2nd gear. I am relatively new to the rc world let alone nitro but I've gone through 2 motors with this car and have learned a lot in the meantime. I am quite familiar with this chassis now and quite the mechanically inclined individual. Having said that I am completely stumped on this issue. perhaps it's a common seldom known issue getting these to shift. I have disassembled the transmission for the 10th time trying to figure out where the issue is. I have tried a multitude of things. All the basics are covered. The set screw for the clutch is tight on the shaft. 2 full turns out with the silver spring on the clutch adjustment screw. I have tried severial adjustments. The clutch shoe pivots freely with slight resistance. Motor is tuned and broken in correctly it rips from a dead stop and screams to high revs with no shifting. I have attached some images of the transmission clutch and bell. I am very confused. Am I missing a part? Can these simply just wear out?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151124_175659.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	2.50 MB
ID:	2132414   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151124_175807.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	1.88 MB
ID:	2132415   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151124_175933.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	1.93 MB
ID:	2132416  
Old 11-25-2015, 10:07 AM
Anthoop