Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Just got my RS4.. need help

Old 12-03-2003, 08:37 PM
  #1  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got my RS4.. need help

I just got my car in the mail and I am having some problems, I got it out of the box and it still had a little fuel in it (got it off ebay really cheap) and so I finally got it started... It took off across the floor WOT and I had to run after it and catch it ... When I cought it i pinched the fuel line and cut it off... Now I don't know what was going on and ... I think the carb is set too high, I turn it all the way to the right... right? When I cought the car it was burning hot, guessing that was a bad thing so I stopped screwing with it and came here for advice... help please! :P asap...
Old 12-03-2003, 09:31 PM
  #2  
soccerismylife
Senior Member
 
soccerismylife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

I would check the throttle linkage set up. It might not even be there! This happened to me but lucky for me it was stopped by a curb. Check the owner's manual if you got one. If you did the linkage setup is towards the back of the manual. If you didn't get one, go to www.hpiracing.com and got to USA then to "KITS". Then once you pick your kit go to "MANUAL"
Old 12-03-2003, 09:37 PM
  #3  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

There is only one little dial there, I turned it all the way to the right then 2 times to the left and it can start now.. but it just doesnt idle.. but it will run just fine ( ran it in the garage, it's pouring rain ) is this normal?
Old 12-03-2003, 09:47 PM
  #4  
Blackjaxx360
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

I dunno, check your throttle trim and see if it is all the way up. If it is, turn it down some. It should be at the point of revving the engine almost enough to move the car forward. If the car starts to move, turn the trim down a little. Could also be a sticky carb, bad servo, bad transmitter, misaligned throttle linkage, idle screw opened way out. You might have to do some homework, LOL.[&:]
Old 12-03-2003, 09:52 PM
  #5  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Okay okay.. maybe there are 2... I see them both now... Which is for which? Err... #1 and #2 ?


|edit| I was turning on #1 btw...
Old 12-03-2003, 10:37 PM
  #6  
soccerismylife
Senior Member
 
soccerismylife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Ok What you call number 1 is the high speed needle and number 2 is the idle adjustment screw. Now that you know what is what, what is the problem?
Old 12-03-2003, 10:45 PM
  #7  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Well its 10 o clock at night and pouring rain, so tomorrow if it clears up or something
It has to do with the idle stuff.. I think i have it figured out, Thanks for the help on finding the guide and stuf.f.....
Old 12-04-2003, 01:07 AM
  #8  
GALAXY
Senior Member
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

I know a kid that had one of those,that engine is hard to work with...he also didn't break it in right so that was his fault and it wouldn't idle,there was no compression.Everything above was right and you sound like you got a good idea of what to do now so good luck tomarrow and keep us posted[8D]
Old 12-04-2003, 08:41 AM
  #9  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

When I crank it it takes off but when i grab the controller and press the break the whole car stops.. guessing i should turn idle speed up and the first big knob down? even though its only on like 1 1/2 - 2 turns... eh?
Today is .. uh.. Very wet outside, but Im going to make it work...
Heading off to school.. lol i will keep you informed!
Old 12-04-2003, 11:23 AM
  #10  
Burnin_Foam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: River Edge, NJ
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

This happened to me the other day. The screw that goes into the carb that is attached the to throttle was loose. I had to manually move the throttle then tighten the screw. What you should do is take the air filter off and look into the carb while adjusting the idle screw. You don't want the opening to be that big. You probably have to go 1/8 to 1/4 turn counter clockwise to close it a little. You might have to lean it up a bit too. www.hpiracing.com has a instruction section look for your car and then click tuning, it will tell you what to do.
Old 12-04-2003, 01:10 PM
  #11  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Ohhh Thanks! I was looking at that earlier, I bet the gap is only but 2 mm In depth...
Is this right?
Thanks
Old 12-04-2003, 01:29 PM
  #12  
Burnin_Foam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: River Edge, NJ
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

I'm not too sure on the measurements. www.hpiracing.com should have the measurements, but since you have some hop-ups it won't run right on the stock setting...you're gonna have to play with it.
Old 12-04-2003, 01:39 PM
  #13  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

I dont have any hop ups.. It's all stock but I ordered a 2 speed transmission, I have a set 5 sets of soft , very soft, medium, hard, and very hard springs, but i havent put those in yet
Old 12-04-2003, 08:40 PM
  #14  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Yeah okay I have it running right.. I just have another problem now... The exhaust thing came off the side of the engine, it has done it twice now... I have screwed it back on and I even lost one of the screws in the mall parking lot... Should I superglue it? It is where the engine goes down to the exhaust, not the exhaust itself... 1 Screw isnt going to hold it together...

Also, I got it pretty dirty... What's good for cleaning it?
Old 12-04-2003, 10:23 PM
  #15  
72celica
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

There are a number of company that make nitro car cleaner. I myself find them too expensive and I work for a large automotive chain so I use Electrical parts cleaner. It's about $3.50 a can and works just as well. As for your exhaust manifold bolts, use blue loctite. You can purchase that at any automotive supplier as well. Hope this helps.
Old 12-04-2003, 10:30 PM
  #16  
soccerismylife
Senior Member
 
soccerismylife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Yeah the problem I have is the pipe coming loose from the chassis but not the manifold coming loose. There should be two screws golding the manifold on to the motor at least that is how it is for the SS kit. The exaust pipe is never gonna stay clean so don't worry cleaning it.
Old 12-04-2003, 11:17 PM
  #17  
proptop
My Feedback: (8)
 
proptop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 7,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

You got a hobby shop near by? I'm pretty sure the manifold bolts are 3mm, take one w/ you to compare. Super glue ain't gonna cut it cuz it gets too hot/oily and vibrates too much...I use brake parts cleaner from an auto parts store, but if you use it be careful! Wear eye protection cuz it splashes, and do it out doors, of course...
Old 12-05-2003, 09:11 AM
  #18  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Okay thanks, Yeah it isn't the pipe .. It's the manifold, At the LHS they have special "Nitro Car cleaner" that you just spray all over the car... I think ... I might get some of that and try it out...
Also. I ran through a HUGE puddle of water on accident, It wasnt deeper than the car but it splashed all over it, I wasnt running with the body on so I dont know any damage it might have caused... Is this a hazard?

Thanks for answering my dumb questions!
Old 12-05-2003, 10:33 AM
  #19  
Burnin_Foam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: River Edge, NJ
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Try using Simple Green to clean the car but becareful on the electronics (don't get them wet!)...I also had the same problem with the exhaust manifold bolt coming loose 1 week after I put my new exhaust on. I went to the hobby shop and bought a longer allen screw and I tightened the crap out of it. One of my friends put nuts on the back of the bolts to help keep it on. I haven't had a problem with the longer bolts so I would try that if I were you.
Old 12-05-2003, 10:37 AM
  #20  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

Ohh.. Yeah thats a good idea, Thanks...
I lost one of the screws in the mall parking lot but I didnt see anything because it was asphault and it was black, and so was the screw, so I didn't know at the time... The other screw comes loose alot, I found this yesterday when my car was sounding sickly loud and kind of like.. it was almost going to blow up or something...
And also, the little Ring, I guess you would call it, That goes from the motor to the exhaust manifold is broken, It's in like... 5 Pieces... I'm going today to the LHS (they just opened last week, they specialize in Nitro vehicles ) and am going to hope they have it...

Thanks for the advice!
Old 12-05-2003, 10:39 AM
  #21  
Burnin_Foam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: River Edge, NJ
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

you mean the little rubber thing that holds the manifold to the pipe or the gasket that goes between the mainfold and the engine? When mine fell off it was running like crap and spewing oil all over the car.

Not to get off topic but does your name mean not-a-boy?
Old 12-05-2003, 11:58 AM
  #22  
knotteboi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Just got my RS4.. need help

The gasket between the manifold and engine, and yes it spews oil ALL OVER the place....

My name is knotteboi, it came from the origional name knottyboy, I used knottyboy dreadwax on my hair one time for liberty spikes (im white) and so I started playing Anarchy Online, an online game... I used knottyboy as my character name, but when I remade my character I was trying to think of something that was close but not quite the same thing... Knotteboi is what I came up with , so I just used it for everything I have, AIM, MSN, email, everything... It just works out fine that way, Some people even dont accept my IM's because they think It's porn or something... lol



Thats my story and I'm Sticking to it!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.