Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Official Smartech Thread

Old 11-01-2007, 06:34 PM
  #3776  
Kol
Senior Member
 
Kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , IRELAND
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

You wont see anything. You have to run the car now to see if the car changes gear when its running.
Old 11-01-2007, 06:37 PM
  #3777  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Yeah, you have to run it. I thought he did. my bad.
Old 11-01-2007, 07:20 PM
  #3778  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

But if I hooke it up to a source that will make it spin fast it should throw 2nd gear into play right?
Old 11-02-2007, 03:12 AM
  #3779  
Kol
Senior Member
 
Kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , IRELAND
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Just run the engine. THe car doesn't have to move just let the wheels spin. You will hear it change up to second very clearly.
Old 11-02-2007, 07:13 AM
  #3780  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ok ill try that tonight...maybe not I stripped out the screw that holds it to the shaft. So ill just buy a new tranny ... Looks like I will end up doing my winter projct sooner then I wanted too
Old 11-02-2007, 08:58 AM
  #3781  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Ok another question. Does anyone have thge part number for that part wit hthwe 2 screws? Maybe I can just order that instead of a new tranny
Old 11-02-2007, 09:23 AM
  #3782  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Would it happen to be part number 45019
Old 11-02-2007, 09:46 AM
  #3783  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

45019 seems to be the right part number. Hopefully the screws are included as i cannot tell from the picture.
Old 11-02-2007, 02:02 PM
  #3784  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Well I just ordered the part $11 shipped to me. Not too bad better then $13+
Old 11-02-2007, 02:10 PM
  #3785  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Not bad at all dude! Only $11???
Old 11-02-2007, 02:50 PM
  #3786  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Yup $11 shipped to my door. Got it from a guy on ebay that I usually deal with
Old 11-02-2007, 03:27 PM
  #3787  
Kol
Senior Member
 
Kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , IRELAND
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

That's going to be a pain to take apart and put together again. I would have bought the tranny.
Old 11-02-2007, 03:40 PM
  #3788  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austintown, OH
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

The tranny is apart already, when I get home ill try to snap a pic of my little work area its a mess with parts and tools lol
Old 11-02-2007, 03:54 PM
  #3789  
Kol
Senior Member
 
Kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , IRELAND
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I changed the one way bearing in the middle of the tranny before. I swore never again!
Old 11-02-2007, 04:07 PM
  #3790  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Pain to disassemble the tranny? WOW dude and I thought there wasn't anyone more lazy than me!!! LMAO!
Old 11-02-2007, 05:31 PM
  #3791  
Kol
Senior Member
 
Kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , IRELAND
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread


ORIGINAL: GYNAIKAS

Pain to disassemble the tranny? WOW dude and I thought there wasn't anyone more lazy than me!!! LMAO!
I near put the one speed tranny back in to avoid doing it!! lol But the one way bearing was a pain to press back in without damaging it. I'm still on the same clutch shoes tho after two years so I must be doing something right!
Old 11-02-2007, 08:11 PM
  #3792  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Not nessecerily (did I spell this right?), you should check their condition first, clean them and see how they work.
Old 11-02-2007, 09:02 PM
  #3793  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Hey what kind of tires are you guys runnin
Old 11-02-2007, 09:29 PM
  #3794  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

30mm foams 40 shore. I needed the wheel extensions otherwise go with a 26mm foam. I tried tons of rubber tires. Best rubber ones I've found are through dinball on ebay. 26mm topcad aluminum wheels and tires. The rubber always ends up coming off the rims on everything I've tried though. Foam seems to get better grip too.
Old 11-03-2007, 04:57 AM
  #3795  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

At the front 24mm tyres are better cause they make steering easier...
Old 11-03-2007, 08:53 AM
  #3796  
Senior Member
 
ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 3,557
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

is it me or are the 30 mm tires a bit big for the back? when i had the plastic radio tray, it would constantly rub, so are my tires maybe a bit bigger than that in the back?
Old 11-03-2007, 09:42 AM
  #3797  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

No they are just fine you've seen the pics of mine...these are 30mm ones rear.
Old 11-03-2007, 06:14 PM
  #3798  
Senior Member
 
ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 3,557
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

oh, then i might have even larger rear foams, who knows.
Old 11-03-2007, 07:04 PM
  #3799  
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

You have the graphite tray so bigger foams can fit. With the stock tray, 30mm is the maximum rear tyre width without ofset parts use. I think 30mm are ideal for track use.
Old 11-03-2007, 10:53 PM
  #3800  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Benbrook, TX
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I've just acquired a Smartech 1/5 scale "Ranger" 2WD with a 23cc gas motor. Problem is, I've got the car and a "Challenger" TX but no manuals for either.

I've already checked the site but can't seem to find anything to help.

Jeff

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.