Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Official Smartech Thread

Old 11-10-2004, 02:06 AM
  #76  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
thats true, should go faster....but your acceleration will be reduced....and no i have never tried. i'll do it soon tho, once i get my engine sorted. i got my temp gauge today
Since I have to get some tires anyway, I might just try the monster thing; I found some Tamiya tires for the 'Mad Bison' that might fit (I hope I don't run into any trouble setting'em up)

Glad to hear about the gauge; I'm not sure I understand how to use one of these; could you post some details, please ?
Old 11-10-2004, 02:15 AM
  #77  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
i'm glad to hear that as i was planning on getting one from him!
btw, what is filing, and how do you do it? does it require any tools? thanks
Since this is my first experience with miniature cars, I maybe wrong, but isn't it the same assembly I found on rcmart.com ?

When andyk007 said it needed filing, what he did, I think, is widen the hole in the center of the car, to make room for the wheels. If this is right, you can simply do that with a metal file (just like a nail file).
Old 11-11-2004, 01:12 AM
  #78  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

sharkx, if you look carefully at the picture on the link you gave me, you will see that it is only a single speed. You are talking about the disk braking assembly part right?
Old 11-11-2004, 01:17 AM
  #79  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

i'll take that back.....it is indeed a 2 speed on that picture, i was the one who didn't look at it carefully
Old 11-11-2004, 02:06 AM
  #80  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
i'll take that back.....it is indeed a 2 speed on that picture, i was the one who didn't look at it carefully
No problem, just that I was intending to get one to prevent being grounded if anything breaks, and I didn't want to buy anything that doesn't fit.

They had the two-speed clutch bell, too, but it's out-of-stock for the moment.
Old 11-11-2004, 12:35 PM
  #81  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

hi. yeah its out of stock in many places, its really annoying. but i just checked now and they have it......they have the 2 speed clutch bell at rcmart.com
Old 11-11-2004, 12:59 PM
  #82  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
hi. yeah its out of stock in many places, its really annoying. but i just checked now and they have it......they have the 2 speed clutch bell at rcmart.com
I'd better get one, since the last time I tried it was on the site, but not in stock.

Any luck with the engine tuning ?
Old 11-11-2004, 01:13 PM
  #83  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
but i just checked now and they have it......they have the 2 speed clutch bell at rcmart.com
Can't find it. Could you please post the URL ?
Thanx.
Old 11-11-2004, 03:20 PM
  #84  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

the only way i found to get it is to search with google, i'll post the link in two secs
Old 11-11-2004, 03:23 PM
  #85  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...7d16a78c7325ff

there you go - if the link doesn't work go to google and search smartech 45069 and it should be the first result.....
Old 11-12-2004, 02:09 AM
  #86  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Thanks. That's the piece.
Now that's interesting ... With their site search you cannot find it; and I recently ordered one, and they replied to me saying it's out of stock for the moment.
Old 11-12-2004, 10:37 AM
  #87  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

i know same here. but yeah, all that matters is that we can get it
hey, what do you think is better, getting the conversion kit from slotcar, or that piece and the brake part?
which of the two is better to convert it to a 2 speed?
Old 11-12-2004, 11:28 AM
  #88  
sharkx
Member
 
sharkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bucarest, ROMANIA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ORIGINAL: rctamiyafan77
i know same here. but yeah, all that matters is that we can get it
hey, what do you think is better, getting the conversion kit from slotcar, or that piece and the brake part?
which of the two is better to convert it to a 2 speed?
I've never tried this before, so I can only guess ... I think the parts are the same, if you can get the clutch bell from rcmart.com Or at least they should be the same.

But I'm not sure, since I don't know how the single speed transmission looks llike ... [sm=confused.gif]
Old 11-13-2004, 03:45 PM
  #89  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

oh ok, thanks anyway. i'll get them off rcmart.com i just hope there isn't any addition parts i will need.....like screws or something
Old 11-18-2004, 09:03 PM
  #90  
Notgwb
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Hey guys,

I just got a Smartech .15cx. Can some one please tell me the instructions on how to break it in? And also can someoone send me the link to the Official Smartech site? Thanks alot!!!
Old 11-19-2004, 03:58 PM
  #91  
o0lunatik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Hi everyone! does anyone know where to get a diff. main gear for a Smartech Commando?
Old 11-19-2004, 05:32 PM
  #92  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

www.rcmart.com

you should be able to get what you want from there...
Old 11-19-2004, 06:28 PM
  #93  
o0lunatik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

thanks for the reference. I checked their items listed but none to be found. Just dropped them an email. appreciate the help.
Old 11-20-2004, 03:38 AM
  #94  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

i think you should look under the other smartech products.......like the winner one for example. they might have it and should be compatible
Old 11-25-2004, 09:25 PM
  #95  
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,075
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I hear that Smartech is going out of business. I'd try to get a model before they all are gone... like the Magic Wheel. Its basically a cheap tmaxx How are your winner cars running? I hear the new cxp is good!
Old 11-26-2004, 12:13 AM
  #96  
just-in
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gering, NE
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Mine wont start any more floodes out only one needle on carb
Old 11-26-2004, 07:36 PM
  #97  
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,075
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I couldnt recommend something, I am not familiar with the engine. Anyone else hear any news on the closing of Smartech?
Old 11-27-2004, 03:55 AM
  #98  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

are you serious about that? They went bankrupt or something? how do you know?

that could be quite worrying part wise
Old 11-27-2004, 01:26 PM
  #99  
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,075
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Well i saw it on thursday afternoon at their site. Now they have their site back up and running. I dont know for sure if that was a rumor or not... but if they have been in the hobby for about 3 decades, i bet they AREN'T closing. But that is very odd, one day it says they are closing their doors, the next they are taking sales and have a new vehicle.
Old 11-27-2004, 02:08 PM
  #100  
rctamiyafan77
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epalinges, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

yeah that is odd, i guess there is nothing to do about it, jsut gotta wait.

whats their site again? i forgot, i just remembered their site is so crap

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.