Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Official Smartech Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 11:53 PM
  #1301  
E_V
Member
 
E_V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LondonLondon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

if a clutch fits a engine just depends on engine ranges and how many shoes.........ur SMT engine will fit .12 .15 .18 2 shoe clutches
Old 01-14-2006, 11:54 PM
  #1302  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

yeah and i got my motor off ebay brand new for 52 us and airtronics mx-3 radio, pipe, spare car,i dont mind finding deals insted of paying full price
Old 01-15-2006, 12:02 AM
  #1303  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

what a about a clutch bell does that matter?
Old 01-15-2006, 12:34 AM
  #1304  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ok i got a problem with my cars transmission? it will roll forward but not backwards and when i drive it it dosent shift gears it seems like it in second all the way slow start then it rips no first gear ill post a pic of where the problem is
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36896.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	387829   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31367.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	387830  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:41 AM
  #1305  
rcextremer
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

yes that is it
Old 01-15-2006, 01:02 AM
  #1306  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

will this clutch kit fit the SMT .15 cxp motor
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXD217&P=0
Old 01-15-2006, 01:08 AM
  #1307  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

no
Old 01-15-2006, 01:11 AM
  #1308  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

ok i got a problem with my cars transmission? it will roll forward but not backwards and when i drive it it dosent shift gears it seems like it in second all the way slow start then it rips no first gear ill post a pic of where the problem is
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx72234.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	387844   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75589.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	387845  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:12 AM
  #1309  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

this is what you need
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXDSZ5&P=ML
Old 01-15-2006, 01:17 AM
  #1310  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

i know it might be a bit much to ask but could u look on tower hobbies for a clutch kit and 15t clutch bell plz
Old 01-15-2006, 01:19 AM
  #1311  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

2 speed or 1 ?
Old 01-15-2006, 01:20 AM
  #1312  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

yep thx....i didn't see ur last comment
Old 01-15-2006, 01:23 AM
  #1313  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

1 speed
Old 01-15-2006, 04:50 AM
  #1314  
jryals5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 33
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I saw your post that you have a FMT Racer. Well, I got it and it doesn't work. I put the batteries in the Controller and in the car. The manual says something like put it neutral? I have another car that I use instead of 4 AA batteries and the plug is the same. So when I use the battery pack or batterie and I switch it on .... on the car .... nothing happens . On the controller which is really cheap .... I get power but I cant turn the wheels or pull the trigger. This sucks!!!! Do u have any ideas if there is a hidden swith or a special way of getting the car to work? I posted my pic of the car. Also, this car doesn't come with a battery cover for the body .. uses a tie strap LOL. Do you have there tech support # or website? I bought from ebay so I hope the seller if this car is DOA then I can get my $$$ back . Any opinions for a street car thats RTR? Smartech maybe? Thanks
Old 01-15-2006, 05:10 AM
  #1315  
MiniMental
 
MiniMental's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 305
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

jryals5,

when you turn your radio on, does it switch on? if so, then mayb u should check your xtals in your Tx and RX are the same.. if they arent, this is your prob, if u think they are because you have checked before, check them again,you may have snapped a leg off one...i did this with my eb4, unfortunately, it was going about 60 when it happaned [], If thats not the problem, and your radio dusnt come on, mayb u have a faulty switch. I also have a smartech speedy tiger, and have fully upgraded the radio to a futaba unit.

Hope this helps

Regards
Aidan
Old 01-15-2006, 09:05 AM
  #1316  
boltech
Senior Member
 
boltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Central, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,086
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I was the one who upgraded to metal clutch shoes. The tinging sound is normal. you just richen you idle screw until it is gone. that way you know you clutch is not engaged and wearing away at your bell. I even take it a notch or two below so it stays cool during idle. 8 second finger on heatsink test!

I got my clutch shoes from austrailia off ebay. took about 7 days and 7US but weel worth it. those damn stock smartech shoes are very very VERY cheap!

ORIGINAL: r20crazy

popparipper just put the HPI engine in, and sounds like there was no problems. Might ask him for specifics. As for the carb/pull start, an HPI engine comes with them (and they are better than smartech).
someone also upgraded to metal clutch shoes (don't remember who). As for the Bell, yes, they warp as they are thin 'pot' metal parts, especially when they are overheated (like yours was). They aren't that expensive so order a spare or 2.
I have melted my brake/gear housing plastic 4 times already, gone through 3 brake disks, and 2 clutches,so I order 2 at a time to save on shipping since I know I'll need them eventually and to minimize down time.
It's all part of the Smartech experience.
Old 01-15-2006, 10:04 AM
  #1317  
drivethis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Ok all you smartech drivers This is what I've found out about these cars which I own 2 a speedy tiger and a winner 1 . 1st both of my car start on the 1 or 2 pull 2nd The clutch bell and clutch are 1/8 scale and so far a Monster gt and Cen will work on your car, As for the clutch is the same as traxxas t Max and some of the other rc cars but better because they are bigger than the 1/10 cars. The gas tank will leak air so pull out the pump , by heating the shaft ( a Little) and pull it out and seal it with sealer and screw. BE CAREFUL. 3rd Main gear is same as some HPI's 4th Top speed stock 33 mph (radar gun radio shack $ 99) Now my mods -- left 2 speed clutch on and installed a 40 tooth main gear from rcmart.com and remove exhaust resticter inside muffler, installed a OS 10e carb , hpi exhaust manifold ,nitro shoes 40f 30r . Top speed 43mph which beats most HPI's AE's Cen etc .. This is a great car I think that most people who buy them as a starter car know nothing about RC and thats the major problem. As for parts Excelhobby.com I order on line and dont talk to any one and parts show in 5 days so far no problems for past 2 orders also rcmart.com 2 orders 3weeks high shipping no problems. Last compare parts and amount of plastic use beats all of the other rc cars . The radio is fair . O ya my LHS likes the Speedy Tiger so much he cares them, he's been in rc for over 20 years and proable the only Hobby Shop in the us that carries them but they work well and sell for beginers.



Ps most rc car out of the box 30- 40 mph all the people telling you their car goes 50- 60 dont no sh-t.
Old 01-15-2006, 11:29 AM
  #1318  
jryals5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 33
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

I am only finding one switch on the car. Then the cheapo remote as well. Now what do I need to do elsewheree? The manual was pooorly written. Just tell me where to go and I hope it will work. I have a a battery pack 6volts that i use in the buggy , can I use it in this POS .... LOL there has to be anoter power sawitch on the car besides the easy to find one.


PS
Do you think they will give me a refund if youupcomoing soloution doesn't work?
Old 01-16-2006, 06:45 PM
  #1319  
fishy2k8
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
fishy2k8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

is this a good fail safe to use? can it be used with alkalines? http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEYG2&P=ML
or how about this? http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXHLV3&P=ML
Old 01-16-2006, 06:49 PM
  #1320  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

both are good i would get the cheaper 1 it m akes no differance wich 1 you get if you get 1
Old 01-16-2006, 10:16 PM
  #1321  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

so what 15t clutch bell will fit the 1 speed SMT .15 CXP motor? plz
Old 01-16-2006, 10:18 PM
  #1322  
popparipper
Senior Member
 
popparipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

chit ill find out
here you go this 1 will work for 1 speed
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXDSZ4&P=RF
and this 1 for 2 speed
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTT46&P=7
Old 01-16-2006, 10:32 PM
  #1323  
RUNUTZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BeaudesertQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

cheers
Old 01-16-2006, 10:34 PM
  #1324  
jryals5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 33
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Thanks for your help. I even used the battery pack that the dang car came with. Nothing. No power to the car. It seems that this car is crap. I emailed and called the seller but of course no call backs!!!! I had no problems with my smartech. The link you sent. Is that something I have tto hav? this car is RTR> so they say. I tested the 4 AA battery pack in my smartech and it works fine. Is there somewhere else on the car that I have to do? The manual sucks bad. Please help
Old 01-16-2006, 10:46 PM
  #1325  
fishy2k8
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
fishy2k8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Smartech Thread

Which car are u saying that sucks?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.