Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC On Road Nitro Cars
Reload this Page >

RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Old 08-22-2005, 11:40 AM
  #1  
Mchwind Chimes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mchwind Chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Well usually when you have this problem you would tighten up the screw that is on the hub (silver thing by the pinions) but theres no screw, is a clutch holder set the answer to the problem, all i need is the ball and spring, but the recomend the whole clutch holder set.?
Old 08-22-2005, 11:43 AM
  #2  
Mchwind Chimes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mchwind Chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Please let me know
Old 08-22-2005, 02:04 PM
  #3  
Burntt32
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Exton, PA
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

ok, im assuming you have the same problem that i did as did many many many others. the middle ring of the silver thin on the 2 speed is spinning freely. to tighten this and make it spin with the shaft you must tighten down the VERTICAL setscrew. if you tighten the diagonal one you will adjust your shifting point.
Old 08-24-2005, 12:36 AM
  #4  
goodtimes
Member
My Feedback: (53)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Check this out. http://hpiracing.com/graphics/instr/...-2%20P2_A4.jpg. When I got my rs4 it was assembled wrong so it wouldn't shift. Now it works great but need to change my pinion and sur gears since the previous owner had stripped them...
Old 09-01-2005, 06:44 PM
  #5  
Mchwind Chimes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mchwind Chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Is that vertical screw also called a ball and spring?
Old 09-01-2005, 09:30 PM
  #6  
Burntt32
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Exton, PA
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

no that vert screw is called a set screw. and if its not there...then that would be your problem
Old 09-02-2005, 07:06 AM
  #7  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Yea thats very likely.

So the tranny is shifting.. but the second gear pinion isnt attached to the shaft (set screw's job) so.. no power transfer!

ram
Old 09-02-2005, 10:22 AM
  #8  
Burntt32
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Exton, PA
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

exactly.

and my tranny is havin some more problems. re-built it twice already. think im just gonna buy a new one. shifted into 2nd for the last time with this one yesterday. pushed it a little too hard, doesnt shift and a second after the shift point it makes a hard 90degree without my input and lands one a curb.
Old 09-03-2005, 06:02 PM
  #9  
lordcontrary
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: avoca, PA
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

This thread seems to apply to me as well and I have a related question...

...my rs4 shifts... but I'm just not sure how to judge WHEN it should shift... my opinion -I think it shifts too late... when it does shift I estimate it adds maybe 15% more top speed capability ( opposed to staying in 1st ).

If my low speed set screw ( engine carb ) is adjusted wrong will this also effect the 2nd speed shift point? ( my logic being the engine has too little power/torq at the low setting... )

I'm a newbie, a yes or no would explain a couple different things to me.
Old 09-04-2005, 09:23 AM
  #10  
Mchwind Chimes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mchwind Chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

My tranny isnt swithcing at all. So i think its stuck in first because it doestnt have the ball and spring that goes in the silver hub
Old 09-04-2005, 12:03 PM
  #11  
C3Racing
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oz ,
Posts: 1,093
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

Maybe this it what you need? http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXM583&P=0
Old 10-08-2005, 10:56 PM
  #12  
Mchwind Chimes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mchwind Chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RS4 Tranny prob, not switching to second!

I put a heavy duty tranny in yesterday, its running hard!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.