Notices
RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots Discuss autonomous and radio control robots and anything related to robotics in here

noob question, what motor for my robot

Old 01-16-2008, 10:51 AM
1amdesign

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noob question, what motor for my robot

Hi,
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to RC stuff and robots. I want to build a lawnmower RC robot. There are a ton of different motors on the market, I just need a point in the right place to what kind of motor I should be looking for. What kind of controller should I be looking for.

here is are some links on what I'm looking to do.
Thanks

[link]http://youtube.com/watch?v=l8Wz_OXJfyg[/link]
[link]http://members.iinet.net.au/~tnpshow/RCLM/electronics.htm[/link]
Old 01-16-2008, 03:27 PM
hands without shadows

Default RE: noob question, what motor for my robot

Wheelchair motors have adequate power, are meant for 12v operation, and come with gearboxes that are geared to use acceptable size tires.
Old 01-16-2008, 08:42 PM
Codeblack

first: OMG!! now a robotics forum?!!!?? thats awesome.

now: as hws said, everything with gearboxes will make your life easier. If you want to go ahead and either attempt a belt drive or chain for low rpm, high torque motors, you could try some of FIRST motors, they are fairly cheap. Or Robotmarketplace.com is a pretty nifty website (some of their motors have planetary boxes which could work pretty well for ya.

http://www.robotmarketplace.com/store.html
http://www.ifirobotics.com/
Old 01-16-2008, 09:22 PM
1amdesign

Thanks, I'm going to check out a used electric wheelchair parts/repair shop this Friday. What is a good price that I should shoot for. So I know that I'm not getting ripped off on a used motor.

What kind of torque should I be looking for?

I'm guessing that the finished bot will weight in around 150 lbs. to 200. I need something that can push thought the grass and not go to slow that it would be faster to just push it myself.