Notices
RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots Discuss autonomous and radio control robots and anything related to robotics in here

Motorized rat advice

Old 09-30-2008, 10:51 PM
POKEY1707

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motorized rat advice

Hey everyone,

This might not be posted in the correct forum but my project seems to fall into several different areas so here goes:

I am currently researching how to build a motorized rat for a stage production (the Nutcracker). I have been using one for the past 6 years which consisted of an electric rc car with a rat body attached to the top replacing the car body. All it was able to do is 'drive' around the stage. It worked but needless to say, not very realistic! I would prefer NOT to use it again this year!

My goal is to build one which would do the following:
1. Move around the stage with a speed range of a "crawl" to 15 mph. (The stage is flat with a vinyl surface.)
2. Stop on centerstage and "sit up" quickly; turn its head left to right; and lay back down to its crawl position.
3. Have simple red eyes light up.
4. Have a tail which would "wag".

Each one of my goals presents a design discussion. I have several ideas for each but would love to have your input. Also, even though I have ideas I have very little knowledge to implement those ideas. I have been researching motors, servos, transmitters, receivers, esc's and such, but I am a bit overloaded! Everything RC seems to be geared toward cars, trucks, planes, and helos. I think these products can be used for my application but was hoping for some advice.

If any of you are up for helping out a newbie please start any discussion. (You'll also help several thousand audience members!!!)

Thanks
Old 07-04-2009, 10:42 PM
bsamuels

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motorized rat advice