Notices
RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots Discuss autonomous and radio control robots and anything related to robotics in here

Arduino for autonomous robots?

Old 02-24-2009, 12:32 PM
ddrake

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Arduino for autonomous robots?

Hi all,
Am new to microprocessor programming but am a programmer by profession.
Am looking around to understand how to develop an autonomous moving platform, open to be guided / communicate through different modules.
So far am attracted to Arduino potentials as mother board of this project. Makes pic programming easier, has direct control on PWM channels, can be easily interfaced, as even Xbee modules and the processor used, an ATmega168, seems powerful enough for most needs.
So my question is.. how comes no one here is talking about it? Are there known limits / downfalls of this board for robotics? Anyone working on projects with it?

For starters I would like to do something like this:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/...num=1173623665

or

http://www.irit.fr/~Nicolas.Lassabe/robot.php

regards
Old 02-25-2009, 12:13 AM
dknovick

Default RE: Arduino for autonomous robots?

ORIGINAL: ddrake

Am looking around to understand how to develop an autonomous moving platform, open to be guided / communicate through different modules.
So far am attracted to Arduino potentials as mother board of this project.
The Arduion is a great platform to get started on. More then enough processing power for a robot and it has a lot of plug in boards to do other things.
Old 02-25-2009, 12:51 PM
ddrake

Thank you for your reply. I will try it out
Old 02-25-2009, 10:00 PM
Access

ORIGINAL: ddrake
Am new to microprocessor programming but am a programmer by profession.
If you are an apps programmer, have you ever thought of just using a PC/104 board or similar platform?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC104