Notices
RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots Discuss autonomous and radio control robots and anything related to robotics in here

esc / amp / motor?

Old 04-19-2009, 04:50 PM
  #1  
benny2.0
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: brooklyn park, MN
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default esc / amp / motor?

So I have a robot with two drive motors. Under a good load the motors pull about 50 amps. My question is if I add two more drive motors what will my amps do? I know they will go up but with the added motors wont the load on the others go down. Dose anyone get what I mean.
Thanks
Old 04-19-2009, 05:36 PM
  #2  
lejongleur
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: esc / amp / motor?

Yes, if the load on each motor is reduced, they will draw less current to move the same distance/rotation. However, I doubt that doubling the number of motors will necessarily halve the current to each of them, as you are increasing weight, and there is always the factor of efficiency and entropy. Just my simplistic thoughts.
Old 05-04-2009, 04:20 AM
  #3  
cowana
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: esc / amp / motor?

Load decreases, so the current decreases

Number of motors increases, so the current increases.

I would guess it would increase slightly, and also have much less wear on the motors.

A

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.