Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

New Guy with AX10

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 04:00 PM
rcdyna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy with AX10

I'm new to crawlers and have purchased a stock AX10. When going up a steep incline if I stop, the crawler will start to roll backwards. Is this normal? I thought the crawler would hold on a incline, I can keep the crawler from rolling backwards with throttle adjustment, but once on level ground the crawler will move forward with no throttle input.
Old 03-03-2011, 04:15 PM
zman5000

Default RE: New Guy with AX10

if you have the rtr ax10 the speed control has no drag brake, the other issue is progamming the speed control, or the neutral needs to be set back on your radio.a lot of peopleuse a tekin fxr speed control. it does everything you need it to do.
Old 03-03-2011, 04:15 PM
mudbucket72

like the drag brake isnt working .. or it doesent have one??... but if the incline is too steep even the drag brake isnt gonna hold it so if ur in that position i would suggest holding the throttle just enough to keep it there till you have ur next move
Old 03-03-2011, 04:23 PM
zman5000

the tekin fxr will hold on a hill, i have one and they do work, and not that much money-win win
Old 03-03-2011, 05:27 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

the stock axial speed control does not have drag brake. this is the feature that will hold the truck still when your throttle trigger is in neutral.

look up the outcry ESC. its about $60. it has drag brake...and no-delay reverse(no more double pumping forward on the trigger to get it to back up) as well as a fan and external bec.

the stock axial ESC is not really for a crawler. its a decent "all around" esc. but anyone who wants a real crawler will have to upgrade it.