Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

RedCat Sumo for a 6yr old?

Old 01-03-2012, 09:00 AM
gprdpr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RedCat Sumo for a 6yr old?

Hi all. I'm new to the RC world.

My son is 6yrs old and is fascinated by rock crawlers. I'd like to get him one to play around with indoors throughout the winter.

What type of skill set does the 1:24 RedCat Sumo require? Is it a vehicle that would work well for my 6yr old? I will say that he has a good attention span, is a pretty quick learner,and handles his Stampede and other RC's easily. (I understand that the crawler is a completely different animal)

So, I wonder, would the Sumo crawler be over his head?

As always, thanks in advance for the help/expertise!
Old 01-03-2012, 09:22 AM
rc2008
My Feedback: (25)

Default RE: RedCat Sumo for a 6yr old?

i think the sumo would be a good crawler for him. there isnt much skill needed to crawl unless you run competitions some of the courses are challenging for both the truck and driver. the biggest thing is to make sure you dont get a wheel stuck between to objects as this will cause binding and if you mash the throttle stuff can break  for example....(wheel hex can strip, driveshaft can twist, diff gears can break, ect....) i know because i found out the hard way [:'(].     on the sumo that should be as big of a problem.

Old 01-03-2012, 01:35 PM
K_B

You might want to consider a Losi micro crawler (I personally like the Trekker) just for parts support unless the local shop carries a decent amount of RedCat parts.
Old 01-03-2012, 02:12 PM
gprdpr

I would certainly consider the Losi, but the price difference is pretty substantial. If nothing else, the RedCat parts could be ordered online...couldn't they?
Old 01-03-2012, 02:52 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

ORIGINAL: gprdpr