Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

ESC Question

Old 02-10-2012, 12:05 AM
  #1  
Sunfirefoot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (30)
 
Sunfirefoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ESC Question

I have an RS10 that has a weak ESC, for those who don't know the RS10 is a MOA with dual 70t 380's, but the question i have is, i have a Waterproof XL-5 lying around, will that run both motors VIA a y-harness? Should i risk trying this? Thanks in advance for your input!!!!
Old 02-12-2012, 11:31 AM
  #2  
jsowens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Radford, VA
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

When you say your RS10 has a "weak ESC", what do you mean? The XL-5 will work fine...but it doesn't have a drag brake. So when you're on an incline and release the throttle, your rig will roll instead of staying in place.
Old 02-12-2012, 10:01 PM
  #3  
Sunfirefoot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (30)
 
Sunfirefoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

Its a POS in my opinion lol, the bottom line is i bought the rig for $80 used, I had its bigger brother the super rock slide well actually the Mad Torque but same thing in a sense. Anyway the ESC is blah and lacks the motivation my rig needs. Cool i figured it would, just thought i'd ask for some input first, Thanks for your help!!!
Old 02-13-2012, 07:00 AM
  #4  
jsowens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Radford, VA
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

If you're saying your rig lacks power or torque, I highly doubt changing your ESC is going to make much of a difference. The RS10's suffer in a few different areas in their stock form. Primarily the motors and overall electronics realm. The 1/8 rockslide you're referring to has 540 sized motors so they're gonna make a little more torque than these tiny 380's that come with the RS10. When I was using the stock ESC on my RS10, I put new motors in it and it woke it up quite a bit. A lot of guys over on rccrawler.com are converting their RS10's to use 540 sized motors and some of them are using 3s lipos on the stock electronics and 380 motors, which puts a little pep into the RS10.
Old 02-13-2012, 08:57 PM
  #5  
ReaperGN
Senior Member
 
ReaperGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ., MI
Posts: 674
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

A esc with more amps/lower turn limit will be more powerful.
Old 02-14-2012, 11:05 PM
  #6  
Sunfirefoot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (30)
 
Sunfirefoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

Dude do you have a link for that conversion to 540's? Cause that would make this project amazing!!
Old 02-18-2012, 05:47 PM
  #7  
jsowens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Radford, VA
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ESC Question

Sure do:

Thread with detailed instructions:
http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/redca...cumented;.html

Link for the conversion kit:
http://www.zno-rc.com/store/index.ph...ct_detail&p=74


ORIGINAL: Sunfirefoot

Dude do you have a link for that conversion to 540's? Cause that would make this project amazing!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.