Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

What is best for my crawler?

Old 05-05-2005, 10:46 PM
moab_crawler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is best for my crawler?

Im just getting into crawling and I already have the ESC (Super rooster) and the tires/rims. I am building my own chassis so i can mod it myself but what is the strongest tubing for the chassis and what size is best. I was thinking copper and about 3/8". Also what motor would put out the most torque. I heard that the integy lathed motors are good. My set up that i want is the custom chassis, X-factor axles, txt-1 tranny, and revo shafts. If there is anything that you would recomend besides these parts then please let me know.
Old 05-07-2005, 05:20 PM
t-maxx homie 369

Default RE: What is best for my crawler?

well if you wanna make a tube chassis u should use 1/4 steel tube . yes the integy 55t are they best . your setup sounds pretty good
Old 05-07-2005, 06:41 PM
tomas13

do u need a special speed control for that integy 55t?
Old 05-08-2005, 02:13 PM
t-maxx homie 369

well the super rooster is the best but its kinda expensive i dont think you do
Old 05-08-2005, 05:11 PM
crawlinmaxx

ORIGINAL: t-maxx homie 369

well if you wanna make a tube chassis u should use 1/4 steel tube . yes the integy 55t are they best . your setup sounds pretty good

no need for 1/4"

98% of people build rigs from 3/16" brakeline or 3/16" solid rod. everyone i have built is either of the 2 and they all have taken a beating.

if your gonna run Xfactor axles, you may also go the route of a GD600 with a mag mayham motor. it will give ya great runtimes and tons of torque. i run a gd600 and johnson 27t motor w/ a SR esc and get 1 1/2hr runtimes off a 3000 battery pack when i ran my lathe motor, i got about 50 mins runtime and not near the amount of torque i do now

and no you dont need a special ESC to run a lathe motor
Old 05-09-2005, 05:59 PM
moab_crawler