Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Sailboat steering

Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Sailboat steering

Old 12-02-2003, 07:08 PM
R/C Dragon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sailboat steering

Hi im new to boating and am thinking of getting a sail boat and i was wondering how well they steer and how long the battery lasts.
thanks
Old 12-02-2003, 07:51 PM
LtDoc

Default RE: Sailboat steering

Dragon,
The easy part first. I've had a set of 'AA' batteries last for a week in my sailboat. They will last for several days at the pond, usually far longer than I do.
As for steering, it's a matter of coordinating control of the sails and the direction of the wind and how steady it is. Sort of like a car with sloppy steering, you don't really want to take your hand off the wheel, kinda thing. In general, it isn't all that difficult, but it isn't like steering a motorized boat. The direction the wind is comming from has a lot to do with where the rudder is 'pointed'. Just something that has to be learned as you go along. No big deal...
- LtDoc
Old 12-02-2003, 09:28 PM
R/C Dragon

Thanks for the help,
what kind of sailboat do u think would be good for a beginer??
Old 12-02-2003, 11:36 PM
alex909