RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Sailboats (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-sailboats-89/)
-   -   mainsheet / boom (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-sailboats-89/3888060-mainsheet-boom.html)

dr2 02-09-2006 01:23 AM

mainsheet / boom

I'm new to rc sailboats. is there any reason the mainsheet is led to the middle of the boom instead of the aft end of it ?
thanks
dr

TexasBob 02-09-2006 06:56 AM

RE: mainsheet / boom

It it usually determing by the limit of travel (or "Throw") of the radius arm of the servo. For Simplicity, If you have a full 180 degree servo, the max line that can be hauled in is 2X the length of the servo arm. For a 150 degree servo it's going to be less than that. If you take a pen and mark the line on the main where it exit the boat at closed hauled and then again with the sails full out, you will find that is the same as the "throw" of the servo arm. To attach the line farther out on the boom would require you to haul in more line and would require: A. Lengthening the servo arm or B: modifying your servo for 180 degrees (mentioned elsewhere), or C: both A & B. At some point however, you will find that the servo arm would no longer fit into your boat. Conversely, moving the attachment point closer to the boom would require less throw but require more torque on the servo. (larger servo, heavier weight, more cost). Anyway, that's the basic design limitations that determine where the attachment point is on the boom [sm=confused.gif]

Guiri 02-09-2006 11:39 AM

Presumably the main and jib have to move more or less in unison and tha much shorter moment arm of the jib to its pivot point limits the length on the main.

LtDoc 02-09-2006 01:06 PM

Guiri,
Ah, but the attachment point of the jib control line isn't necessarily the same as the main's control line. If the jib's line is attached closer to the servo than the main's line, the amount of jib movement can be varied quite a bit.
- 'Doc

dr2 02-10-2006 01:12 AM