Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

first scale airplane kit?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

first scale airplane kit?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 07:38 PM
Gunnar15

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first scale airplane kit?

Iv been wondering what a good first kit would be, i have been flying for 7 years, but my dad has pretty much built my trainer and my astro hog for me, the rest of the airplanes iv had/have are ARF's. So iv decided its time to learn how to build. But im not sure what good first kit would be...it would be nice if it was scale as well, so does anyone have any suggestions? im looking into either an electric or a small glow plane with a wingspan thats under 70(ish)inchs.

Gunnar
Old 12-28-2010, 07:45 PM
davidgeorge212

Default RE: first scale airplane kit?

j3 Cubs are good for getting into scale building. One of my first or second builds was the sig 1/5 scale which has an 84" wingspan. The sig anniversary edition is by far, in my opinion, the most scale best quailty kit for a cub I have ever seen but it is a little bigger than the size you are talking about.

I know a lot of people on here talk about the carl goldberg .40 cub as being another fantastic kit build as well as flyer.
Old 12-28-2010, 07:59 PM
TFF

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The first question is what kind of planes do you like?
Old 12-28-2010, 09:00 PM
Gunnar15

haha i like all of them. anything from world war one through the the modern era really as far as time periods go. im looking for a kit that has a really well written and well diagramed instructions and clear plans, pretty much somthing that will teach me some skills as a new builder.

Old 12-28-2010, 09:04 PM
Gunnar15

Sweet ill look into the cubs thanks is there a cessna or a WACO thats a good kit?
Old 12-28-2010, 09:51 PM
abufletcher