Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Honeycomb radiator material !!

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Honeycomb radiator material !!

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2014, 04:54 PM
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Honeycomb radiator material !!

So, I have been flying a Fokker DVII for quite a few years. It has done very well, accumulating many awards, and always getting compliments at fun flies and such. It has placed 1st and 2nd at the 2 Scale masters qualifiers it has entered.
But, the one big shortcoming to me, was that screen I had in the cowling trying desperately to replicate the radiator. I have searched high and low for a material that would replicate this item properly.

Today this item found it's way into my mailbox! I contacted Iflytailies, an on line supplier of scale cockpit accessories. They have began doing custom 3D printing. Out of the blue I shot them an email with some pictures and dimensions of what I was looking for.

The reply I got was how many do you want, and what color! No way! Yes way! Naturally I said black! Dang, I felt like I was getting greedy.

The total to have all 3 pieces shipped was around $20. It feels very sturdy, and can be cut and glued. It has a glossy finish to it, but I will airbrush it to dull out the color.

I just thought that there might be some others as excited about this as me, and felt I would share it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fokker DVII radiator 002.JPG
Views:	559
Size:	811.5 KB
ID:	1960545   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fokker DVII radiator 003.JPG
Views:	673
Size:	796.4 KB
ID:	1960546   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fokker DVII radiator 004.JPG
Views:	543
Size:	837.5 KB
ID:	1960547   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fokker DVII radiator 005.JPG
Views:	465
Size:	768.5 KB