Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Inexpensive and reliable onboard glow system.

Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Old 02-02-2004, 10:23 AM
fockewulf37
My Feedback: (102)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Inexpensive and reliable onboard glow system.

Here is a system that I have been using for a few years now. I tried some of the manufactured glow systems and found them lacking. I was told by one manufacture when I called with questions that if I had a big enough battery his would make it glow the whole flight. So I said I can do that myself and save about $40-$50.
This system is very reliable. It does not burn up glow plugs. I get about 40 minutes of continues glow with one charge. The engines have a very quick response. I have used this system on my Satio 150 inverted, 2-OS 91's inverted, Magnum 61's. All parts are available at your local Radio Shack. I have included a couple of pic's and a diagram of the set up. I have $12.00 in the whole set up minus the glow plug connector.( which you have to buy with whatever system you buy). The $12 does include battery which a bought system does not.

You Need:
part # 274-1569 Size M Coaxial DC Power Plug....... For charge Jack $2.49 2 pack
274-1563 Size M Panel Mount DC power Jack..... $1.99
275-634 SPST ToggleSwitch $2.99
C size Battery Holder $.99
Rechargeable 2000mah C Battery $7.49 2 pack