Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

WWI(early bird)Experts! Question on rib stitching.

Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

WWI(early bird)Experts! Question on rib stitching.

Old 01-19-2005, 05:16 PM
pcsol
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WWI(early bird)Experts! Question on rib stitching.

Although I have been a builder for more years I care to reveal , I have never focused on a WWI subject seriously until now. I am in the process of building a 1/3 scale Pup and a debate has come up amongst my cronies about the correct method for scale rib stitching on a WWI fighter. The question is this:
Did the builders of Ally fighters (Sopwith and their sub contractors) use a cloth strip over or under (or both) on the rib stitching as in the more modern day cloth covered aircraft ? I have seen several beautiful WWI scale models with the "pink" tape method used and doubt that such a technique was used on these most early of warbirds. Am I wrong? Perhaps a plain edged strip was used to cover the stitching? anyhow, I know somebody out there must have the real answer to this! And I would greatly appreciate it !

PS: I have also seen a few full scale reproductions of Sopwiths with the modern method used that don’t really qualify for true scale subjects.
Old 01-19-2005, 05:59 PM
BigglesFliesUndone

Default RE: WWI(early bird)Experts! Question on rib stitching.

Hi pcsol, You are correct in that pinking tape was not used on WWI aircraft. I have attached a picture of Hendon's (UK museum) Sopwith Camel .. which I believe is correct , You should be able to work out the stitching spacing from the pic too.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22485.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	26.7 KB
ID:	217628  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:42 PM
BobH

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts