Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Piper Cub from Hanger 9

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Piper Cub from Hanger 9

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2002, 12:23 PM
Daniel Gut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Piper Cub from Hanger 9

Hallo There

The Piper J3 from Hanger 9 looks very nice and seems to be reasonably priced, can anyone tell me a little more about the Model, kit quality and Flying characteristics. I have been flying sailplanes for a few years and am looking for a trainer that I can learn to aerotow with.
Many Thanks

Regards

Daniel
Old 10-08-2002, 01:29 PM
CSpierings
My Feedback: (29)

Daniel,

I've put together two of them. I'm not much of a fan of the wooden motor mount which comes with the kit. On my first it failed the first time I put a torque starter to an OS 70. To be fair when I contacted Horizon about the issue they made good on it.

It is a nice flier. I've flown the ones I had off floats, skis and of course wheels. BOth were powered with OS 70s, overpowered.

The thing I liked least were the aileron servo mounting plates. They are made of plastic and flex when the servo is actuating the contorl surface. I eventually added 1/32 ply stiffeners. I've never heard of them failing but I didn't want to risk it.

I've sold both of mine but I'll probably build another some day.

Chris
Old 10-08-2002, 11:53 PM
Wayne22
My Feedback: (2)

I pretty much wore mine out...It is a great flyer and a lot of fun......oh ya, we aero towed with it too!

There were a few minor things that needed work. If they still supply screws to use as wheel axles - don't use them....they grind away the wheel hub....when the wheels wear out - and they will - replace them with some DuBro Cub wheels...lighter and stronger.