Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Spitfire XIV markings

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Spitfire XIV markings

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2005, 09:19 PM
bokuda
My Feedback: (7)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Spitfire XIV markings

I'm a little new to this so please pardon my ignorence.

I recently acquired a Yellow Aircraft Spitfire kit and have been researching a subject to model. The decals that came with the kit are for an aircaft identified as RB159. There are also large letters for the fuse sides: DW-D.

I have found several photos of this plane. Two photos show its port side and it is identified in the captions as the CO's plane and has a CO pennant on the fuse. The plane is also identified as RB159, but the in the photos it appears to be RS159. This photo appears in "Spitfire in Action" by Squadron Signal Publications. At first I thought the "B" was scratched or worn and it just resembled and S, but here is another, larger, clearer photo from a different angle of the port side of this plane in a book titled, "Supermarine Spitfire MK.XII-24" by Arco Publishing Co., very clearly showing this to be marked RS159. The same photo that appears in the Squadron Signal book also appears in this book, again, the caption identifying the plane as RB159. The Arco book also has two photos of this plane showing the starboard side and it is clearly marked RB159. The lettering is also DW-D in these photos.

My question is: Is this an error in the plane's markings? Or can more than one plane carry the large lettering DW-D and so these may actually be two different planes?? There are several other planes in a couple of the photos in formation with RB159 all having the DW lettering, but with a different third letter. So I assume the letters are unique to each plane.

Can someone explain what's going on here?
Old 09-12-2005, 10:09 PM
Ed