Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

60" Container ship scratchbuild

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

60" Container ship scratchbuild

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2009, 04:01 AM
Kwaka_Chris

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 60" Container ship scratchbuild

Greetings folks, yet another Aussie here to share on the forums. "long time listener, first time caller"

So I bit the bullet finally, I am experienced in enjoying R/C boats and cars, but have never built anything and its my urge to do so. I've been procrastinating for 4 whole years to do something. So before it became my new years resolution I decided to start. I went out to the hardware store and bought some sheets of 3mm plywood, a decent scroll saw and some strips of ply and balsa.

I decided to scratchbuild a ship first. I really want to design and build some aircraft but I don't have any form of skill as I have NEVER done this before and I'm quite intimidated by the whole process, I really have no clue what I'm doing.

I can't read plans, so I decided not to go by them and just drew up my own stuff on some napkins. I went by the rough scale of some container ships being about 200-300 metres long and 30-50 metres wide or a rough ratio of 4:1 or 6:1 length to width. I drew up half of a 'bulkhead' if thats what you call it, and transferred it to a piece of wood.

I used this piece of wood to create 6 main bulkheads that would form the centre of the ship or the main area, a large uniform in size centre section, from which the front will taper off (bow is it called? )and the stern will raise up a bit out of the water to a flat end. The main centre area is about 1 metre long, and the front and rear of the ship will add about another 40cm ontop of this. Ive designed it so that there are multiple ribs around the outside of the bulkhead to give it the rough shape for covering.